ASCoC: Stevie Smith Claims All Star Glory at Port Royal

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Northeast, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

PORT ROYAL, Pa. – official release — Stevie Smith overtook Doug Esh and drove to his second career Night Before The Tuscarora 50 sprint car victory on Friday night at Port Royal Speedway, worth $5,000.

A native of Hanover, Smith’’s first win in the event was back in 2010 while his UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions win on Friday night gave him an even dozen in the all time Port Royal record books.

Doug Esh and Danny Holtgraver took the All Star Circuit of Champions feature green from the front row in what would end up being a 30-lap non-stop feature event. Esh was holding sway over the field when Smith got by Holtgraver for second on the eighth tour as the front-runners negotiated heavy traffic at the rear of the field.

Lancaster’’s Esh, in his first night back after a nasty crash last Saturday night at the track, began struggling with the lapped traffic and that is all it took for Smith to go out in front with 11 laps completed.

As Esh began slipping backward, Holtgraver went into second on the 13th tour and began giving chase of the new leader.

With Smith on the bottom and middle grooves, Holtgraver began slinging his No. 10H around the high side of the speedway and with 10 to go the Pittsburgh pilot appeared ready to overtake Smith for the lead. On a few occasions he was able to draw alongside the leader’s No. 51, but Smith was just good enough on the bottom of the track to keep pace with Holtgraver during his challenges before getting away with his lead during the final five circuits.

Monday’’s Labor Day winner, Danny Dietrich, surged around Holtgraver with a lap to go but ran out of time to run down Smith for the win.

Holtgraver held on for third followed by 10th starter Dale Blaney and Blane Heimbach.

In the 20-lap super late model main, Dylan Yoder became the first repeat winner of the season in the division, scoring the victory in the final show of the year at the track for the super stock cars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *