NWAAS: Seekonk Announces 2017 Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series

Kyle Souza New England 0 Comments


The 2016 Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series champions are pictured here. (Seekonk Speedway photo)

SEEKONK, Mass. — Seekonk Speedway is excited to announce the dates for the 2017 edition of the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series.

The 2017 edition will begin on Saturday May 27 with the Sports Trucks as part of the NASCAR Saturday night program. The Fast Friday portion will begin with the Sport 4’s on June 9. The series will conclude with the crowning of the champions on Friday Sept. 16 and Saturday Sept. 17.

“Seekonk Speedway is excited to continue this series that benefits our committed weekly racers and also adds excitement for our fans all summer long,” said Ed St. Germain of Seekonk Speedway.

The championship format for the series will remain close to the same as last year, with a “Chase” system. For 2017, the “Chase” format will be on both Friday and Saturday night. The final four drivers will be made up of the winner of the first race, the winner of the second race and the two highest point getters that have not won a race.

In order to be eligible for the Phil’s title, a driver must compete in all three of the races.

The Pro Stocks will race in their extra-distance battles on June 17, July 22 and Aug. 19, while the Late Models will run there three races on June 3, July 8 and Aug. 5. The Pro Stock races will be 65 laps, except the first race. The Brad Scott Memorial will take place on June 17 and that race will be 75 laps. All of the Late Model races will be 50 laps.

The Division III Street Stocks will run Phil’s races on June 10, July 15 and Aug. 12, each of them 35 lap races. To wrap up the NASCAR Saturday divisions, the Sports Trucks will start the Phil’s Triple Crown Series off on May 27, then will finish their three race stretch on June 24 and July 29 — all of which 30 lap events.

The Fast Friday Series division will also each have three races in the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series. The Legend Cars lead the way with three 30 lap races slated for June 23, July 28 and Aug. 25. The Pure Stock events will also be 30 laps on June 16, July 21 and Aug. 18.

The 2017 season will mark the fifth straight year that the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series takes place around the third-mile oval. Last year, Tom Scully Jr. scored the Pro Stock Phil’s championship, while Ray Parent, Scott Bruneau and Chase Belcher completed the Saturday night champions. Scott Serydynski Jr., Mike Belanger, Scott Cestodio, T.J. Thompson and Luke Lebrun were champions on Fast Friday.

Seekonk Speedway will release the full 2017 schedule of events in December. For more information, visit www.seekonkspeedway.com

CREDIT: Seekonk Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.