STARS: Kyle Hamilton Banks Grundy County Victory

RaceChaser Staff Midwest, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

MORRIS, Ill. — official release — Phil Rider photo — Kyle Hamilton once again displayed his dominance in the longer races at Grundy County Speedway by scoring his seventh career 50-lap feature win in D’Arcy GMC STARS National Midget competition during Saturday night’s seventh annual running of the Alex Pruett Memorial.

The win also gave Hamilton his ninth career STARS Midget victory, which made him the all-time winningest driver in series history.

Hamilton started the night out strong by collecting his eighth fast qualifying time in his Curtis Motor Sales Spike/Esslinger. Ryan Probst and Jim Anderson won the two eight-lap heat races.

Travis Young and Nick Hamilton led the field to the green flag. Young, who won the inaugural Alex Pruett Memorial in 2008, got the jump and led the first several laps. On lap 17 Kyle Hamilton was able to move around Young to take the spot and held on to that advantage for the remaining 34 laps to take his series-best fifth win of the 2014 season.

Hamilton was followed to the line by a hard-charging Prock from the tail of the field, then Nick Hamilton, Brandon Wagner and Young.

Prock clinched his first STARS National Midget driving championship and, by virtue of his trio of second place finishes in the Illinois State Championship, Pavement Nationals and Alex Pruett Memorial, Prock earned the most points in the Safety Kleen Triple Crown and took home a $750 bonus.

Tom Schnabel won the STARS Classic Modified feature, but when all the points were tallied after the feature, Greg Wills and Darren Ihrke were tied atop the standings. The first tiebreaker of who had most wins was a dead heat, so the second tiebreaker went to the driver who had led the most laps throughout the season. Wills had led 30 more laps than Ihrke, which meant that the title belonged to Wills.

Johnny Kringas won the INEX Legends feature, but it was Cullen Camasta who took the season championship. Derek Doerr won the CSR Super Cup feature while Dallas Frueh’s six wins during the season were enough to drive him to the season title. Nathan Bertino was the victor of the Legacy Midwest Series feature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *