POWRi: Daum Dominates Wheatland; Wins at Lucas Oil Speedway

RaceChaser Staff Midwest, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

May 4, 2014 — official release — Ken Simon photo — WHEATLAND, Mo. —Zach Daum of Pocahontas, Ill. took home his first POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series win of 2014 with a last lap, last corner pass on runner-up finisher Daniel Robinson.

Daum started in the second position in his Daum Motorsports-prepared, Toyota-powered Eagle staying within striking distance of the lead for the entire race on the 3/8 mile semi-banked oval.

Pole-sitter and Friday night’s feature event winner at Valley Speedway, Darren Hagen of Riverside, Calif., held the lead for a majority of the race, enduring steady pressure from Kokomo, Ind.’s Parker Price-Miller in the beginning half of the race.

Following a caution for the spun machine of Spencer Bayston, Price-Miller attempted to overtake Hagen, but the 2013 POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series Rookie of the Year was unable to do so.

At first, the risk didn’t appear to pay off as Robinson would lose a spot.  But a caution for the spun car of Michelle Decker bunched the field back up, giving Robinson another chance.

It would pay off as Robinson began to pass cars one by one and eventually Hagen was forced to relinquish the lead to Robinson’s McCreery Motorsports-sponsored, A.J. Felker-prepared, Esslinger-powered FSC.

Once Robinson took control of the lead, it was clear the top side had come in and Daum and Price-Miller changed their lines and moved to the outside.

Daum, the defending POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series Champion, chased down Robinson. On the last lap, heading into turn three, Daum was on Robinson’s back bumper.

Daum dove to the middle of the track, slid in front of Robinson and the duo came out of turn four with Daum in the lead at the checkers.

“I thought we had it won,” explained a clearly deflated and disappointed Daniel Robinson.  ”We hired A.J. (Felker) to crew chief for us this weekend and hopefully we can continue that.”

After struggling at Valley Speedway, Parker Price-Miller was able to rebound to podium.

“Overall it was a good night,” explained the third place finisher. “We blew up last night unfortunately, but we got it changed today and made it work for tonight.”


RESULTS: POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series; Lucas Oil Speedway; May 3rd, 2014

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series feature results (30 Laps): 1. 5D – Zach Daum, 2. 57D – Daniel Robinson, 3. 9P – Parker Price-Miller, 4. 56 – Darren Hagen, 5. 11A – Andrew Felker, 6. 35 – Matt Sherrell, 7. 37 – Korey Weyant, 8. 25 – Jake Blackhurst, 9. 2 – Seth Motsinger, 10. 11C – Chett Gehrke, 11. 22 – Andy Malpocker, 12. 79J – Jacob Patton, 13. 39 – Spencer Bayston, 14. 4M – Michelle Decker, 15. 14E – Eric Fenton, 16. 7S – Kory Schudy, 17. 56X – Mark Chisholm, 18. 21H – Ty Hulsey, 19. 0Z – Johnny Murdock, 20. 7 – Austin Brown, 21. 7W – Kris Schudy, 22. 5C – Colten Cottle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.