NSL: Seventh Heaven; Lasoski Roars to National Sprint League Victory at Fairmont

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Plains, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

FAIRMONT, Minn. — official series release — Rob Kocak photo —

Danny Lasoski roared to his seventh FVP National Sprint League win of the season Friday night at the Fairmont Raceway.

It was the first time in almost 30 years that 410 sprint cars had screamed around the banked half-mile oval. The Dover, Mo., driver led all 25 laps and collected $3,000 for his victory.

Lasoski earned the pole by winning the Fuel Safe Dash and shot out to lead immediately in the main event.  Ian Madsen and Craig Dollansky gave chase.  Tim Kaeding rolled to a stop while running ninth with eight laps in the books to bring the only caution of the event.

Lasoski led Madsen, Dollansky, Austin McCarl and Brian Brown back to green flag racing.  The slowdown was welcome for the leader, who had no peer in lapped traffic.  Much of the passing happened further back in the pack.  Bill Balog was on the move from outside row five.  He used the high side of turns one and two particularly well to move into the top five by the time the checkered flag waved.

Madsen reeled in Lasoski slightly late in the going when the leader was briefly caught in traffic. In the end, it wasn’t enough on a heavy, fast surface. Third-running Dollansky had a left rear go down on the final circuit and limped home. Lasoski’s win came ahead of Madsen, Austin McCarl, who scored his best NSL finish of the year, Brown and Balog.

Madsen shattered Jeff Swindell’s 30-year-old one-lap track record, covering the half-mile in 14.244 seconds, an average of 126.4 mph.  Swindell set his mark in July of 1985 at 16.510 seconds.

“Starting on the pole was key tonight,” Lasoski said.  When the little guy (at the redraw) drew No. 2 for the dash, I could have kissed him. We’re here in GoMuddy country and Tod (Quiring) was here. We wanted to win for him. We want to thank all the fans for coming out.”

“It was a great run for the Nehring Construction, KCP Racing team,” added Madsen. “We had a bad Nationals so it’s time to get back on track. Hopefully, we can finish the year strong. Danny Lasoski and Guy Forbrook are an awesome team. It’s definitely no shame to run second to them this year. I just want to thank all the fans for coming out and supporting the NSL Series.”


RESULTS: FVP National Sprint League; Fairmont Raceway; August 21, 2015

FVP A Main (25 laps): 1. 2, Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO [1]; 2. 18, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust. [2]; 3. 17A, Austin McCarl, Altoona, IA [4]; 4. 21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO [6]; 5. 17B, Bill Balog, Brookfield, WI [10]; 6. 24, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA [7]; 7. 17w, Bryan Clauson, Noblesville, IN [11]; 8. 2KS, Craig Dollansky, Elk River, MN [3]; 9. 19, Paige Polyak, Tiffin, OH [5]; 10. 12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA [12]; 11. 7TAZ, Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA [9]; 12. 3, Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA [8]; 13. 09, Matt Juhl, Tea, SD [13]; 14. 16, Travis Whitney, Blaine, MN [15]; 15. 35, Skylar Prochaska, Lakefield, MN [14]; 16. 5H, Dakota Hendrickson, Omaha, NE [16]; 17. 15, Joe Riedel, Ramona, SD [18]; 18. 4w, Matt Wasmund, Jackson, MN [17].

Lap Leader: Danny Lasoski 1-25

KSE Hard-Charger: Bill Balog (+5)

CREDIT: FVP National Sprint League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.