MOWA: Adam Jones Claims Illinois Speedweek Stop at Macon in Thrilling Finish

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

MACON, Ill. – official track release — Mark Funderburk photo —

Adam Jones held off all comers to win Saturday’s Neal Tire MOWA Sprint Car Series event at Macon Speedway during Illinois Speedweek.

Cory Bruns looked to have the car to beat early during the 25-lap main event. He led through the opening nine laps, but he was slowed by lapped cars and was passed by Jones. In his attempt to regain the lead in the fourth turn, Bruns spun out and the caution flag came out.

Jones took off with the lead and was chased down by Parker Price-Miller, who got the lead with the slide job in the fourth turn of the 13th lap. Jones would once again bounce back, retaking the lead on the white flag lap. Coming out of the fourth turn Price-Miller performed another slide job, but he came up short in a side-by-side finish as Jones scored the victory.

Brady Bacon finished third, followed by Jake Blackhurst and Jim Moughan.

Local winners included Rodney Standerfer (modifieds), Jeremy Nichols (sportsman), Terry Reed (street stocks) and Rickey Carriker (hornets).


RESULTS: MOWA Neal Tire Sprint Car Series; Illinois Speedweek; Macon Speedway; July 25, 2015

1. Adam Jones (Wright City, Mo.)
2. Parker Price-Miller (Kokomo, In.)
3. Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, Ok.)
4. Jake Blackhurst (Hanna City, Il.)
5. Jim Moughan (Springfield, Il.)
6. Chris Urish (Elkhart, Il.)
7. Logan Faucon (Elkhart, Il.)
8. AJ Bruns (Lincoln, Il.)
9. Paul Nienhiser (Chapin, Il.)
10. Ben Waggoner (Emden, Il.)

CREDIT: Macon Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.