MLRA: Scott Bloomquist Cowboys Up and Wins in Wheatland

RaceChaser Staff Midwest, Other Late Models 0 Comments

WHEATLAND, Mo. — official release — If the inaugural Lucas Oil MLRA Cowboy Classic was a preview of what is in store for the weekend, hold on!

Scott Bloomquist and Robert Baker locked horns and the winner was not decided until the checkers waved.

Bloomquist edged Baker for his second victory at Lucas Oil Speedway.

“We just moved up and gained back towards him,” said Bloomquist. “That’s why I knew when we started the race again we were going to focus on running up high. The car was just a little bit free on entrance to get it to stick real good in the bottom. Overall the thing was awesome really. We could really maneuver the car about anywhere we wanted.”

Second-finishing Robert Baker led the first 14 laps until Bloomquist took over the position in lapped traffic. Once out front Bloomquist showed the way, but did not pull away from Baker, who appeared unphased running up front with some of the most well known dirt late model racers in the country. Baker was not content to just ride though. Without the aid of any yellows, he jumped back to the lead and began to stretch his advantage somewhat.

The only caution of the night waved on lap 36 for debris in turn three. On the restart, Bloomquist was too much to handle as he rolled on for the final nine laps. For his efforts, the owner of Team Zero was awarded with a $5,045 check, $200 PFI Western Store Merchandise Certificate, one off Cowboy boot trophy and custom pedal car built by Sedalia, Missouri resident and ardent dirt late model supporter Bob Hiller.

Behind the lead duo there were cars all over the track, at times running three wide. Don O’Neal and Eddie Carrier Jr. moved forward late to secure fourth and fifth respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.