MIDWEST: UMP Modified Fall Nationals Begin at Eldora; Hoffman and Mevert Among Big Winners

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Midwest 0 Comments

ROSSBURG, Ohio – official release — Four drivers – Nick Hoffman, Matt Mevert, Brian Ruhlman and Matt Westfall – used their Thursday night victories to essentially lock them into Saturday’s $5,000 to win Modified finale, while the balance of the 107 teams that were on hand will try again Friday to work their way into the 32-car field of the DIRTcar UMP Modified Fall Nationals presented by Allstar Performance.

With the threat of approaching storms into the Darke County Ohio area and the cooperation of the race teams, Thursday’s 16-event show that included four 20-lap $1,000-to-win A-Features was completed in two hours and forty-three minutes; setting the stage for a complete new show tonight (Friday) to finalize the line-ups for Saturday’s ‘alphabet’ features.

Hoffman held off a hard-charging Kent Robinson to triumph in the opening 20-lap chase as that duo finished ahead of Jeff Leka, Lance Dehm and Josh Rice.

A race-long battle between Mevert and UMP title-contending Devin Gilpin, sorted itself out in the closing laps as Mevert chased down Gilpin to take the lead and ensuing victory. Rounding out the top five in that 20-lap run were Randy Lines, Jimmy Dehm and Bryce Jewell.

Ruhlman, a former Eldora Modified champion, used his knowledge of the track to open a sizeable lead in his 20-lap A-Feature but that was soon narrowed down when young Jacob Hawkins came upon the scene and knocked on Ruhlman’s door. The hard charge to the front by Hawkins fell short by just a few car lengths as those two distanced themselves ahead of Evan Taylor, Jeff Babcock and Mark Anderson.

Closing out the night was the most intense 20-lap battle of all, as Westfall threaded his way through the field to take the lead, only to find Tyler Nicely threatening to take the lead. As their fast-paced chase found them weaving in and out of slower lapped cars, Nicely would pull alongside Westfall multiple times but couldn’t muster the horsepower to inch ahead. Westfall narrowly bested Nicely at the finish line while Ryan Thomas, Kenny Wallace and Dean Hoffman made up the balance of the top five.

All teams will be given another round of competition this evening as they are sorted into eight groups. Each group will run a ten-lap Heat race from which the finishes will be used to determine the four B-Features and four 20-lap, $1,000 to win, A-Features that will close out the night.

A driver’s best finish from the Thursday and Friday competition will determine their start in one of the ‘alphabet’ features on Saturday as the late models join the field for the doubleheader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *