MIDWEST: Salute To America & Big 8 Series Invade Madison Half-Mile

RaceChaser Staff Midwest 0 Comments

The Big 8 Late Model Series returns to Madison Int’l Speedway this week. (Big 8 Series photo)

OREGON, Wis. — What do you get when you combine the Big 8 Late Model Series, Great Northern Sportsman Series, Midwest Dash Series and the area’s largest fireworks display?

Madison Int’l Speedway can answer that question: a must see ‘Salute to America’ event on Friday night.

The three-division card will be highlighted by a 48-lap feature for the Big 8 cars, all leading up to a fireworks show that takes place directly overhead the speedway.

The Big 8 Late Models will be making their 18th appearance at Madison dating back to 2005, and with this visit come many drivers who call Madison their Friday night home during the racing season.

Multi-time Madison champion Jeremy Miller has won the Big 8 event at MIS three times, including last year. Zack Riddle (2011, 2012) and Dale Nottestad (2010, 2013) have picked up two wins while Austin Nason (2015), Jon Reynolds Jr. (2014), John Baumeister Jr. (2010), and Brady Liddle (2007) have also taken home checkered flags.

Other past Big 8 winners at MIS include Ross Kenseth, who won twice in 2009; Steve Rubeck (2011), Ryan Carlson (2008), Brian Hoppe (2007), and Tim Sauter, who won the inaugural Madison race in 2005.

The Great Northern Sportsman Series comes to Madison to compete, with weekly stars and drivers from three states expected to battle it out on Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile.

Dave Trute won both the June and July races at Madison in 2016.

The Midwest Dash Series features four cylinder cars racing on the “big” track. Drivers from throughout the Midwest are expected. Kyle Stark was the winner in both stops at Madison last year.

Grandstands open at 6:00 PM with qualifying at 6:15 and racing at 7:30.

CREDIT: Madison Int’l Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.