MIDWEST: Ruhl, Ballou Claim NRA and BOSS Sprint Car Wins During UNOH Sprintacular

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

ROSSBURG, Ohio — official track release — Campbell Photography/Eldora Speedway photo —

Ryan Ruhl and Robert Ballou each claimed sprint car victories during Saturday night’s Sprintacular at Eldora Speedway.

In the winged NRA Sprint Invaders winged 360 sprint car feature, Kyle Sauder took the lead on lap two and had a big lead, before he attempted to pass a lapped car on the outside in turn one. His car made hard contact with the wall and violently flipped before coming to rest in between turns one and two. He was not injured.

That put Ruhl in front and he led the rest of the way winning by 1.5 seconds over Jared Hortsman. Devon Dobie was third, while Randy Hannagan and Tanner Thorson rounded out the top-five.

“I can’t believe it,” Ruhl said. “This is incredible. I can’t explain it. I was impressed just to race here, let alone win a race here. This is awesome.”

BOSS winner Robert Ballou. (Campbell Photography/Eldora Speedway photo)

BOSS winner Robert Ballou.
(Campbell Photography/Eldora Speedway photo)

In the non-winged BOSS (Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series) Robert Ballou mastered Eldora’s cushion. He built a 7.1 second lead when a caution came out due to debris.

When the race restarted, Bryan Clauson moved from third to second, but couldn’t track down Ballou who won by 1.1 seconds.

“We came here a couple of weeks ago for the Four Crown with a new race car and it wasn’t what it supposed to be,” Ballou said. “This thing is about 10 years old and I’ve haven’t run it since 2011. We took all the parts off the other car and this is one hell of a Maxim chassis. We busted our butts to get this thing finished. We got done about 2 pm today.”


RESULTS: UNOH Sprintacular; Eldora Speedway; October 10, 2015

NRA Sprint Invaders A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 16-Ryan Ruhl[5] ; 2. 17-Jared Horstman[12] ; 3. 23-Devon Dobie[2] ; 4. 22H-Randy Hannagan[20] ; 5. 77X-Tanner Thorson[4] ; 6. 20B-Butch Schroeder[6] ; 7. 6S-Greg Wilson[17] ; 8. 11N-Ed Neumeister[1] ; 9. 18-Todd Heuerman[8] ; 10. 22R-Kevin Roberts Jr.[7] ; 11. 35R-Ron Blair[16] ; 12. 11-Tim Allison[11] ; 13. 33M-Max Stambaugh[15] ; 14. 49-Shawn Dancer[18] ; 15. 10-Mitch Brown[19] ; 16. 12R-Nick Roberts[9] ; 17. 31-Andy Teunessen[13] ; 18. 00-Jim Neir[10] ; 19. 83-Kyle Sauder[3] ; 20. 28H-Phil Gressman[14]

Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 12-Robert Ballou[3] ; 2. 7-Bryan Clauson[13] ; 3. 57-Chad Boespflug[10] ; 4. 11S-Hunter Schuerenberg[19] ; 5. 18W-Scotty Weir[12] ; 6. 23E-Tyler Courtney[8] ; 7. 21S-Dallas Hewitt[6] ; 8. 46-Cody Gardner[11] ; 9. 69R-Todd Kane[18] ; 10. 29-Logan Jarrett[4] ; 11. 15-Brandon Whited[23] ; 12. 320-Bill Rose[16] ; 13. 77-Dustin Smith[2] ; 14. 89-Shawn Westerfeld[1] ; 15. 9X-Gary Taylor[21] ; 16. 17-Max McGhee[9] ; 17. 18A-Jarett Andretti[17] ; 18. 4F-Michael Fischesser[15] ; 19. 17N-Nick Bilbee[24] ; 20. 2M-Brandon Spithaler[22] ; 21. 74-JT Stapp[7] ; 22. 9N-Luke Hall[14] ; 23. 14c-Cooper Clouse[5] ; 24. 22S-Landon Simon[20]

CREDIT: Eldora Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.