KNOXVILLE: Mark Dobmeier Wins Race, Ian Madsen Takes Lucas Oil Cup Title

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — official release — Brandon Anderson photo — Mark Dobmeier won the final Lucas Oil Cup sprint car feature of the season at Knoxville Raceway, while Ian Madsen secured the track championship with a fourth-place finish.

Joe Beaver won the 360 driver title with a sixth place finish in a race won by Matt Moro, while J. Kinder needed a borrowed engine to charge from 19th to fifth and win the 305 sprint car title. Dustin Clark won the feature.

In the 410 25-lap feature, Brian Brown shot out from the pole ahead of Dobmeier and Brooke Tatnell early on.  On lap three, Tatnell got sideways in turn four, and Madsen made the move of the race evading him.  Tatnell also recovered.

Brown sliced through traffic as the first 19 laps went nonstop. Terry McCarl moved into third on lap four as the lead trio pulled away. With 19 laps in the books, Bronson Maeschen got upside down on the frontstretch. When Glen Saville slowed to avoid him, Brown clipped him, causing front-end damage to his No. 21.

Dobmeier assumed the lead with McCarl in pursuit. Madsen was passed by Dusty Zomer for third, but held onto fourth with a left wing side panel collapse. He was followed by Craig Dollansky. Justin Henderson, Brown, Tatnell, Davey Heskin and Lynton Jeffrey rounded out the top 10.

“It was a great race track,” said Dobmeier, who celebrated his 13th Knoxville Raceway victory. “There was a bottom, a top, and you could cut through the middle too.  My hat’s off to the track prep guys. I was following Brian there in lapped traffic, and it’s too bad the red came out, because I think I was just getting in position and he was behind some cars.  It was unfortunate he got into the wreck, but I will take the win any way I can get it.”

“It’s just unbelievable,” said Madsen of his championship shared with the Bret Nehring No.18 team. “I’m just speechless right now. I haven’t taken a breath all night.  It will be nice to take a breath and celebrate with the team. I can’t believe we pulled it off.  I have to thank Bret Nehring, Matt Barbara, the whole crew and our partners.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *