DIRTcar: Nicely Earns Breakthrough Victory at Fairbury in Summit Modified Nationals Season Finale

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Midwest 0 Comments

FAIRBURY, Ill. — official series release — DIRTcar Racing photo —

Tyler Nicely powered to victory in a flawless feature performance on Saturday at Fairbury American Legion Speedway to win the final night of the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals and secure second place in the championship.

Nicely was smooth in every corner on the quarter-mile dirt oval while the field behind him was two- and three-wide trying to run him down in the 30-lap, $2,000-to-win season finale. The victory was Nicely’s first win of the 2015 tour, finally putting him over the top after he turned in four second-place finishes during the month-long season that ran primarily in conjunction with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

“I just kept hitting my marks right around the bottom so nobody could sneak underneath me,” Nicely said. “I knew if I didn’t make any mistakes I had a good enough hot rod. It’s huge, I’ve been wanting to win in Illinois, and Fairbury is the best track in America in my opinion. It’s awesome, and the fans make it even better. You just feel welcome here.”

There were 47 DIRTcar UMP Modifieds in competition at Fairbury, which also ran the World of Outlaws Late Model Series Prairie Dirt Classic, for a combined total of 106 cars in the pits on Saturday night.

Heat race winners included Lance Dehm, Curt Spaulding, Brandon Roberts and Nicely.

Mike Harrison earned the overall DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified championship with nine victories in 13 starts. Unfortunately in Saturday night’s finale, Harrison started 15th and was on the move when he was involved in a scary-looking crash on the frontstretch, leaving him with a 23rd-place finish.


2015 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Fairbury American Legion Speedway; July 25, 2015

A-Main (30 laps) – 1. Tyler Nicely ($2,000); 2. Brandon Roberts; 3. Brian Lynn; 4. Curt Spaulding; 5. Jeff Curl; 6. Jeff Leka; 7. Ray Bollinger; 8. David Stremme; 9. Steven Brooks; 10. Mike McKinney; 11. Brian Shaw; 12. Lance Dehm; 13. Colling Thirlby; 14. Jay Ledford; 15. Jeffrey Ledford; 16. Patrick Lyon; 17. A.J. May; 18. Andy Sprague; 19. Dave Porth; 20. Travis Kohler; 21. Tommy Duncan; 22. Nathan Balensiefen; 23. Mike Harrison; 24. Jimmy Dehm.

CREDIT: DIRTcar Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.