DIRTcar: Harrison Rides the Top Side to Modified Nationals Win at Fayette County

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Midwest 0 Comments

BROWNSTOWN, Ill. — official series release —

If Mike Harrison winds up winning the 2015 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals crown this year for the fourth time in his career, he might look back on Friday night’s race at Fayette County Speedway as the one that put him over the top.

Ken Schrader and Kenny Wallace led the field to green, but it took Harrison only five laps to power his way around the top and into the lead, where he would survive two restarts, charge to his fifth victory of the season and strengthen his grasp on the overall championship.

“You could say that’s a little home turf advantage there,” said Harrison, who is a three-time DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals champion. “I know how this place is and I know if the stuff is right we can usually get around the top of this place pretty good and I think I took them all by surprise a little bit off the bat. I don’t think Kenny thought I was coming around the top there. It paid off.”

The race was Harrison’s seventh during this year’s DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour and he has five victories. The championship counts a driver’s top eight finishes.

Robbie Eilers, Brent Mullins, Kenny Wallace and Ken Schrader rounded out the top five. Harrison’s nearest championship foe, Tyler Nicely, was sixth.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour invades Highland (Ill.) Speedway on Saturday and Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind., on Sunday.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Fayette County (Ill.) Speedway; July 3, 2015

A-Main (25 LAPS) — 1. (24H) Mike Harrison, Highland, IL ($1,000); 2. (3E) Robbie Eilers, Highland, IL; 3. (41M) Brent Mullins, Litchfield, IL; 4. (36) Kenny Wallace, Concord, NC; 5. (9) Ken Schrader, Concord, NC; 6. (25) Tyler Nicely, Owensboro, KY; 7. (1S) Brian Shaw, Robinson, IL; 8. (14C) Rick Conoyer, St Peters, MO; 9. (16) Rusty Griffaw, Festus, MO; 10. (128) Zach Schantz, Highland, IL; 11. (77) Ray Bollinger, Kewanee, IL; 12. (1BUD) Zach Fair, Petersburg, IN; 13. (43A) Larry Anderson, Clay City, IL; 14. (70) Brian Bielong, Summerfield, IL; 15. (32Z) Nate Zimmer, Mattoon, IL; 16. (196) Jon Ripperda, Posey, IL; 17. (84) Tyler Deibert, Highland, IL; 18. (59N) Chad Evans, Mattoon, IL; 19. (2M) Michael Meyer, Shobonier, IL; 20. (87Z) Zeb Moake, Freeburg, IL; 21. (9*) Jordan Bauer, St Jacob, IL; 22. (8B) Brendan Bittle, New Athens, IL.

CREDIT: DIRTcar Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.