ASCoC: Weekend Sweep; Blaney Rides to All-Star/IRA Sprintacular Win at Wilmot

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Plains, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

WILMOT, Wis. – official series release — ASCoC photo —

Dale Blaney concluded the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions road trip through Michigan and Wisconsin with yet another main event victory on Saturday evening during the All Star/IRA Sprintacular at the Wilmot Raceway.

The current UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions point leader earned the $5,000 Sprintacular” payday on Saturday over a stacked field of 38 Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series and UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions sprint cars.

Blaney survived two cautions during main event, as well as periods of heavy lapped traffic and a last-ditch effort slide job by Cody Darrah to earn his eighth UNOH All Star victory of the 2015 season. Blaney now has 123 career series victories.

“It was a pretty good night for us” said Blaney, “I just want to thank all of my guys. They work really hard and give me a great car. It’s always special to get back to victory lane.”

Blaney and Blake Nimee led the field to green at Wilmot Raceway. Nimee, who entered the evening sixth in the current IRA Outlaw Sprint Series point standings, controlled the first four circuits of the 30-lap program before losing the top spot to Blaney. The pilot of the, Big Game Treestands, CH Motorsports No. 1 paced the field until the main event’s first caution on lap 10 for Ryan Irwin.

Green flag conditions would return with Blaney setting the tone out front. Darrah, who started sixth, worked his way forward and chased Blaney for the next 13 laps; navigating heavy traffic until the caution lights reappeared for Kyle Martin with 23 laps in the books.

Blaney brought the field back to green once again with only seven circuits remaining. Despite clean air and an open track for the defending UNOH All Star champion, Darrah still managed to keep pace with Blaney and would attempt one last slide job to take over the top spot with less than five laps remaining.

Darrah, a Red Lion, Pa., native, completed the textbook slider, but could not make it stick, as Blaney was able to drive back around the familiar J&K Salvage No. 89. Blaney would go on to win the All Star/IRA Sprintacular at Wilmot Raceway with Darrah hanging on to finish second.

“We just tried to fill the holes” said Blaney, “I knew Cody (Darrah) was going to work as hard as he could to get around me. I just tried to make myself wide and fill in all of the holes.”

“We had a good night tonight and a pretty good weekend all together” Darrah said, “The track was pretty tricky tonight. The cushion was a little too technical for me to make it work. Hats off to my guys. They work hard and it shows.”

Greg Wilson, the 2015 Ohio Sprint Speedweek champion, finished third. Ryan Smith would roll home where he started on Saturday night and cross under the checkers fourth, while early leader Nimee completed the top five.


RESULTS: UNOH All-Star Circuit of Champions; Wilmot Raceway; July 25, 2015

A-Main (30 Laps):  1. 1-Dale Blaney[1] ; 2. 89-Cody Darrah[6] ; 3. W20-Greg Wilson[5] ; 4. 94-Ryan Smith[4] ; 5. 79-Blake Nimee[2] ; 6. 10H-Chad Kemanah[7] ; 7. 45-Tim Shaffer[10] ; 8. 4-Danny Smith[9] ; 9. 64-Scotty Thiel[16] ; 10. 6R-Bill Rose[3] ; 11. 5J-Jeremy Schultz[21] ; 12. 5T-Travis Philo[8] ; 13. 35-Ben Schmidt[11] ; 14. 4B-Scott Biertzer[15] ; 15. 70-Raymond Hensley[18] ; 16. 19-Todd Daun[12] ; 17. 99-Kyle Martin[14] ; 18. 14AJ-Wayne Modjeski[13] ; 19. 2W-Scotty Neitzel[24] ; 20. 1M-Phillip Mock[20] ; 21. 4K-Kris Spitz[23] ; 22. 48H-Mike Reinke[19] ; 23. 11K-Rick Kelsey[17] ; 24. 56-Ryan Irwin[22]

CREDIT: UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.