NXS: No. 33 Car Back on Top; Austin Dillon Paces Lone XFINITY Practice at Texas

RaceChaser Staff MidSouth, NASCAR 0 Comments

FORT WORTH, Tex. — official series release — Sean Gardner/Getty Images North America photo —

Austin Dillon launched atop Friday’s lone practice for the NASCAR XFINITY Series at Texas Motor Speedway.

Dillon, the 2013 series champ who is now a regular in the Sprint Cup Series, pushed the Richard Childress Racing No. 33 Chevrolet to a best lap of 184.363 mph in the two-hour, 25-minute session, the only tuning prep for Saturday’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 (3:30 p.m. ET, NBC, PRN, SiriusXM).

Brad Keselowski was second-fastest in the Team Penske No. 22 Ford with a lap of 184.256 mph around the 1.5-mile track. Erik Jones, Regan Smith and Daniel Suarez completed the top five.

Sprint Cup regular Kyle Busch, a seven-time XFINITY Series winner at Texas, was sixth-fastest in the Joe Gibbs Racing No. 54 Toyota.

Series leader Chris Buescher turned the 12th-fastest lap in the Roush-Fenway Racing No. 60 Ford. He enters the 31st of 33 races this season with a 27-point edge on defending champ Chase Elliott (10th-fastest), a 33-point cushion on Smith and a 36-point advantage over Ty Dillon (ninth-fastest).

Darrell Wallace Jr. was seventh-fastest in practice, but scraped the right side of his Roush-Fenway Racing No. 6 Ford against the Turn 4 wall late in the session.

Coors Light Pole Qualifying for the XFINITY Series is scheduled for Saturday at 12:15 p.m. ET on NBCSN.


RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series Final Practice; Texas Motor Speedway; November 6, 2015:

  1. Austin Dillon
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Erik Jones
  4. Regan Smith
  5. Daniel Suarez
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  8. Kevin Harvick
  9. Ty Dillon
  10. Chase Elliott
  11. Brian Scott
  12. Chris Buescher
  13. Brendan Gaughan
  14. Elliott Sadler
  15. J.J. Yeley
  16. Kyle Larson
  17. Ryan Reed
  18. Ryan Sieg
  19. Dakoda Armstrong
  20. Jeremy Clements
  21. Landon Cassill
  22. Ray Black Jr.
  23. Ryan Truex
  24. Ross Chastain
  25. Blake Koch
  26. Mason Mingus
  27. T.J. Bell
  28. Mike Bliss
  29. Derrike Cope
  30. Joey Gase
  31. Morgan Shepherd
  32. David Starr
  33. Eric McClure
  34. Jeff Green
  35. Harrison Rhodes
  36. Josh Reaume
  37. Derek White
  38. Martin Roy
  39. Mike Harmon
  40. Mario Gosselin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.