NSCS: Kurt Busch Tops Final Cup Practice in Search of Sixth Win in Thunder Valley

RaceChaser Staff MidSouth, NASCAR 0 Comments

BRISTOL, Tenn. — official report — Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images North America photo —

Kurt Busch secured his spot at the top of the leaderboard Saturday in final NASCAR Sprint Cup Series practice at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Busch, a five-time Bristol winner driving the Stewart-Haas Racing No. 41 Chevrolet, clocked a fast lap of 127.554 mph on the .533-mile track in final prep for Sunday’s Food City 500 in Support of Steve Byrnes and Stand Up To Cancer (1 p.m. ET, FOX). Busch, who will start seventh Sunday, scored his first Sprint Cup victory at Bristol in 2002 but has not won at the Tennessee short track since 2006.

Kasey Kahne, fastest in the opening two Sprint Cup practices, continued to pour it on in the Hendrick Motorsports No. 5 Chevrolet with a lap of 126.537 mph. David Ragan, making his seventh start in place of the injured Kyle Busch, was third-fastest at 126.503 in the Joe Gibbs Racing No. 18 Toyota.

Four-time series champion Jeff Gordon, another five-time Bristol winner, was fourth-fastest, just ahead of rival Brad Keselowski, who completed the top five.

Keselowski, a two-time Bristol winner, emerged with a scrape of the outside wall during the 55-minute session. He was second-fastest at the time with the Team Penske No. 2 Ford before fading slightly on the final leaderboard.

Sprint Cup points leader Kevin Harvick landed the seventh-fastest lap in final practice. Matt Kenseth, winner of the Coors Light Pole Award in Friday’s qualifying, was 19th-fastest.



RESULTS: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Happy Hour; Bristol Motor Speedway; April 18, 2015

  1. Kurt Busch
  2. Kasey Kahne
  3. David Ragan
  4. Jeff Gordon
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Carl Edwards
  11. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  12. Jamie McMurray
  13. Kyle Larson
  14. Ryan Newman
  15. Brett Moffitt
  16. Tony Stewart
  17. Clint Bowyer
  18. Sam Hornish Jr.
  19. Matt Kenseth
  20. Austin Dillon
  21. Justin Allgaier
  22. Paul Menard
  23. Casey Mears
  24. Aric Almirola
  25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  26. Martin Truex Jr.
  27. Matt DiBenedetto
  28. A.J. Allmendinger
  29. Michael Annett
  30. Jeb Burton
  31. Alex Bowman
  32. Trevor Bayne
  33. Chris Buescher
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Cole Whitt
  36. Greg Biffle
  37. Danica Patrick
  38. David Gilliland
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. Mike Bliss
  42. J.J. Yeley
  43. Alex Kennedy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.