NXS: Ty Dillon Tops Lone XFINITY Practice In Richmond

Jacob Seelman NASCAR, XFINITY 0 Comments

Ty DIllon led Friday's practice session for the NASCAR XFINITY Series at Richmond International Raceway. (Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR photo)

Ty DIllon led Friday’s practice session for the NASCAR XFINITY Series at Richmond International Raceway.
(Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR photo)

RICHMOND, Va. — Ty Dillon has started off fast at Richmond International Raceway.

Looking for his first NASCAR XFINITY Series win of the year in the division’s penultimate race before its Chase playoffs begin at Kentucky Speedway in two weeks, Dillon led the way in Friday morning’s two-hour practice session around the .75-mile oval in Henrico County.

The third-generation NASCAR young gun posted his best time of 22.105 seconds (122.144 mph) on his third of 68 total laps behind the wheel of the No. 3 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet for Richard Childress Racing.

Michigan winner and Joe Gibbs Racing sophomore Daniel Suarez followed in second (22.275/121.212) with the No. 19 ARRIS Toyota, but behind the top two was a trio of surprise names towards the head of the speed charts in practice.

Blake Koch brought the No. 11 LeafFilter Chevrolet in at third-fastest overall (22.279/121.190), just ahead of J.J. Yeley, who was fourth (22.317/120.984) on the board driving a TriStar Motorsports Toyota.

Roush Fenway Racing’s Ryan Reed (22.350/120.805) rounded out the ‘Fast Five’ in the session.

Brandon Jones, Jeremy Clements, Brad Keselowski, Brendan Gaughan and Alex Bowman were the rest of the top 10.

Already a seven-time XFINITY winner this season, Kyle Busch was 12th on speed in the session.

Rookie Gray Gaulding ran the most laps (82) of any driver in practice, timing in 13th overall.

Chase Grid leader Erik Jones and current points leader Elliott Sadler were 16th and 17th, respectively.

Qualifying for the Virginia529 College Savings 250 rolls off at


RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series Final Practice; Richmond International Raceway; Sept. 9, 2016

  1. Ty Dillon
  2. Daniel Suarez
  3. Blake Koch
  4. J.J. Yeley
  5. Ryan Reed
  6. Brandon Jones
  7. Jeremy Clements
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Brendan Gaughan
  10. Alex Bowman
  11. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  12. Kyle Busch
  13. Gray Gaulding
  14. Justin Allgaier
  15. Justin Marks
  16. Erik Jones
  17. Elliott Sadler
  18. Jeb Burton
  19. Ross Chastain
  20. Dakoda Armstrong
  21. Timmy Hill
  22. Brennan Poole
  23. Ryan Sieg
  24. Austin Dillon
  25. Morgan Shepherd
  26. Ryan Preece
  27. Joey Gase
  28. Brandon Brown
  29. Clint King
  30. Hermie Sadler
  31. David Starr
  32. Ray Black Jr.
  33. Derrike Cope
  34. Garrett Smithley
  35. Mario Gosselin
  36. B.J. McLeod
  37. Matt DiBenedetto
  38. Alli Owens
  39. Chris Cockrum
  40. Brandon Hightower
  41. Mike Harmon
  42. Austin Theriault


About the Writer

jacobseelmanJacob Seelman is the Managing Editor of Race Chaser Online and creator of the Motorsports Madness radio show, airing at 7 p.m. Eastern every Monday on the Performance Motorsports Network.

Seelman grew up in the sport, watching his grandparents co-own the RaDiUs Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series team in the 1990s.

The 22-year-old is currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C., and is also serving as the full-time tour announcer for the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series.

Email Jacob at: speed77radio@gmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @Speed77Radio or @JacobSeelman77

Email Race Chaser Online: news@racechaseronline.com

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.