Corey LaJoie Tops Modified Practice At Charlotte

Jacob Seelman Asphalt Modifieds, Southeast, Touring Series 0 Comments

Corey LaJoie paced NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour practice at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Friday. (Ryan Willard photo)

CONCORD, N.C. — Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regular Corey LaJoie proved he hasn’t forgotten his short track roots, jumping back into a NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour car Friday at Charlotte Motor Speedway and leading practice for the Southern Slam 150.

The event, a long-time staple of the former NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour, is a non-points event for the unified Tour this season.

LaJoie toured the frontstretch quarter-mile at CMS in 15.122 seconds (59.516 mph) to top the charts in the No. 11 Dunleavy’s Truck & Trailer Repair Chevrolet, teaming up with renowned car owner Eddie Harvey to make his first NASCAR modified appearance in two years.

The last time LaJoie raced with the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour was in 2015 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, when he finished 14th for LFR Chassis owner Rob Fuller.

LaJoie is a former winner with the Southern Tour, taking the checkered flag on Atlanta Motor Speedway’s frontstretch quarter-mile as an 18-year-old in his series debut in 2010.

Danny Bohn, who paced the first practice session, was second-fastest overall with a lap of 15.137 seconds (59.457 mph) in the No. 65 Rustoleum/Dunleavy’s Truck & Trailer Repair Chevrolet.

Bohn is a regular at Bowman-Gray Stadium in Winston Salem, N.C.

Defending race winner Ryan Preece was third-quick, just ahead of four-time series champion Doug Coby and NASCAR K&N Pro Series West rookie Derek Kraus, who is making his modified debut in Friday night’s race.

Bobby Measmer Jr., C.J. Lehmann, Trey Hutchens III, Jeremy Gerstner and Jamie Tomaino completed the top 10 drivers in practice.

Qualifying for the Southern Slam 150 is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET.


RESULTS: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Practice; Charlotte Motor Speedway; Oct. 6, 2017

  1. Corey LaJoie
  2. Danny Bohn
  3. Ryan Preece
  4. Doug Coby
  5. Derek Kraus
  6. Bobby Measmer Jr.
  7. C.J. Lehmann
  8. Trey Hutchens III
  9. Jeremy Gerstner
  10. Jamie Tomaino
  11. Lauren Edgerton
  12. Calvin Carroll


About the Writer

jacobseelmanJacob Seelman is the Managing Editor of Race Chaser Online and creator of the Motorsports Madness radio show, airing at 7 p.m. Eastern every Monday on the Performance Motorsports Network.

Seelman grew up in the sport, watching his grandparents co-own the RaDiUs Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series team in the 1990s.

The 23-year-old is currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C., and is also serving as the full-time tour announcer for the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series.

Email Jacob at:

Follow on Twitter: @Speed77Radio or @JacobSeelman77

Email Race Chaser Online:

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.