NASCAR: Gibbs & Penske Among First-Time Hall Of Fame Nominees

RaceChaser Staff Cup, Featured 0 Comments

From left to right: Davey Allison, Red Farmer, Joe Gibbs, Bobby Labonte and Roger Penske have joined the nomination list for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — NASCAR Hall of Fame officials announced the five new nominees for the Hall’s Class of 2018 on Tuesday evening, led by champion team owners Joe Gibbs and Roger Penske.

Gibbs and Penske, along with 1992 Daytona 500 winner Davey Allison, Alabama Gang legend Red Farmer and 2000 Cup champion Bobby Labonte, join the Hall’s 15 returning nominees from last year’s selection process.

After long careers that have helped shape NASCAR, all five first-time nominees — racing heroes who earned race wins, championships and millions of fans — are now one step closer to its highest honor: enshrinement into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

The nominees were selected by a nominating committee consisting of representatives from NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from both major facilities and historic short tracks and the media. The committee’s votes were tabulated by accounting firm EY.

From the list of 20 NASCAR Hall of Fame nominees, five inductees will be elected by the NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel, which includes a nationwide fan vote on

Voting Day for the 2018 class will be Wednesday, May 24.

NASCAR also announced that Jim France and Alvin Hawkins have been added to the list of five Landmark Award nominees. Three prior nominees return for the Landmark Award: Ralph Seagraves, Janet Guthrie and Ken Squier.

Potential Landmark Award recipients include competitors or those working in the sport as a member of a racing organization, track facility, race team, sponsor, media partner or being a general ambassador for the sport through a professional or non-professional role. Award winners remain eligible for NHOF enshrinement.

A full list of the 20 NASCAR Hall of Fame nominees and five Landmark Award nominees can be viewed on the next page…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.