AMA: Supercross and Monster Energy Cup Earn National Television Honors

RaceChaser Staff Motocross/Supercross, Motorcycle Racing 0 Comments

AURORA, Ill. – official release — The Monster Energy Cup broadcast on FOX Sports 2 from Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium and the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, broadcast on FOX Sports 1 from the second stop in Anaheim earned an Emmy and National Silver Telly Awards, respectively.

The Monster Energy Cup, which challenged the world’s best supercross racers in a stand-alone showdown that boasted a $1 million jackpot in Las Vegas on Oct. 19, 2013, received honors in the Emmy Awards Category: Sports EventGame – LiveUnedited. Since 1949, Emmy Award statuettes have been awarded for outstanding achievement in television programming, public service and promotional announcements, commercials and their associated crafts.

Founded in 1979, the Telly Awards honor outstanding local, regional, and cable TV commercials and programs, the finest video and film productions, and web commercials, videos and films.

On the verge of another epic season, the second Anaheim Monster Energy Supercross race from Angel Stadium of Anaheim on Jan. 18, which paid tribute to the sport’s 40th anniversary, hosted a wild night of racing where television viewers witnessed the sport’s third different winner in as many races and welcomed a new points leader.

Less than 10 percent of entries are chosen as winners of a Silver Telly, the organization’s highest honor. The 35th annual Telly Awards received 13,000 entries from all 50 states and several countries and 2014 is regarded as the most competitive in history.

“This is a huge honor for Feld Motor Sports and Monster Energy Supercross,” said Michael Prince, vice president, television, Feld Motor Sports. “To be recognized and receive an Emmy Award and National Silver Telly Award speaks volumes to the hard work and dedication of our production team.”

Last year, the Monster Energy Supercross broadcast from Las Vegas received the National Silver Telly Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *