INDOOR: Trenton Set To Kick-Off Indoor Auto Racing Championships

Kyle Souza Featured, Indoor Racing, New England, Racing Nation 0 Comments

The Battle of Trenton will jump-start the annual Len Sammons-promoted Indoor Auto Racing Championship Series this weekend in New Jersey. (AARN photo)

The Battle of Trenton will jump-start the annual Len Sammons-promoted Indoor Auto Racing Championship Series this weekend in New Jersey. (AARN photo)

TRENTON, N.J. — With cold weather rolling into the New Jersey area, stock cars have come off the track and been placed into race shops for the winter months.

But, that doesn’t mean racing in the Garden State is over for the year just yet.

Friday and Saturday night, the annual Battle of Trenton will take place at the Sun National Bank Center, with the TQ Midgets headlining indoor auto racing action that will also include the Champ Karts and Slingshots.

The star-studded field of TQ Midget drivers is led by defending event champion Erick Rudolph, who is looking for his second straight Battle of Trenton trophy. Rudolph was also able to capture the championship in last year’s Len Sammons Indoor Auto Racing Series, and is hoping to start things off on the right foot this weekend.

He knows that although he has been the car to beat in the past, the competition is hoping to hunt him down. 

“We’re really happy with what we have,” Rudolph said. “We’re always trying new things but if we don’t think it’s better … we can always go back to where we were.”

Other entries for the weekend include former NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Ted Christopher, who will pilot the Trey Haddock No. 49, a car that Andy Jankowiak has piloted in the past. Christopher has visited victory lane many times in indoor action and will be one of the favorites for victory each night.

Jankowiak, who wasn’t originally going to race at Trenton, has picked up a ride in the No. 21 for Ken Sebring.

Jimmy Blewett, who drove for Bob Garbarino and scored one win on the Whelen Tour in 2016, is also entered in the event. Ryan Flores, a pit crew member for Team Penske, will be in competition for another season of racing. He plans to run all three of the Indoor events this season, unlike last year.

Flores is joined by Anthony Sesely, who is the defending winner of the Atlantic City event.

Names like Matt Janisch, Andrew Krause, Andrew Nye, Joey Payne, Ryan Tidman and Zane Zeiner are also entered, among others. Around 60 TQ Midgets are expected to invade the Sun National Bank Center. 

Former winners in the arena include Ryan Preece, Jankowiak, Christopher, Blewett, Rudolph, Nick Ladyga and Ryan Susice.

The Battle of Trenton is the start of a three race Indoor Auto Racing Championship Series that will also include races in Allentown, Pa. on Dec. 30-31 and Atlantic City’s Boardwalk Hall on Jan. 27-28. The champion for the three race series will be crowned in Atlantic City.

Friday, racing action begins at 7 p.m. and is headlined by three 20-lap qualifying races for the TQ Midgets, alongside a full slate of racing for the Champ Karts.

On Saturday, action starts at 5 p.m. with FanFest on the track, while the racing goes green at 7 p.m. Saturday night’s program will commence with the 40 lap TQ Midget Battle of Trenton.

For more information on the series, visit


About the Writer 

Souza head shotKyle Souza is an aspiring Journalism major at the Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.  Souza is Race Chaser Online’s New England motorsports insider, covering everything from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the NASCAR Whelen All American Series and the PASS North Super Late Models.

When not writing, Souza works at the Seekonk Speedway as the track’s Friday night public address announcer. Souza also writes press releases for the Granite State Pro Stock Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.