WEST: More Than 160 Entries Received for Kyle Larson’s Outlaw Kart Showcase

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Mini Outlaws, NASCAR, Sprints & Midgets, West 0 Comments

CORNELIUS, N.C. – official release — Kyle Larson Racing photo —

More than 160 total entries have now been recorded for the inaugural Kyle Larson’s Outlaw Kart Showcase Presented by ParkerStore to be held Tuesday, Sept. 8, at Cycleland Speedway in Chico, Calif.

The entry list, headlined by Larson himself, boasts drivers from 13 states and Canada, ranging in age from 7 to 64 in the three divisions – Box Stock, 250 Intermediate, and Open.

Also entered is the recently-crowned King Shane Stewart, winner of the prestigious Kings Royal at Eldora Speedway on Saturday, July 18. Stewart has won six 410 sprint car events this year and is currently second in the World of Outlaws point standings.

Defending Chili Bowl Midget Nationals winner Rico Abreu will also be competing in the inaugural event. Abreu has 11 race wins this year, including the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East event at Columbus Motor Speedway earlier this month. Abreu was named to the 2015 NASCAR Next class earlier this year.

Other sprint car drivers entered into the event include Brad Sweet, 2013 Kings Royal Champion, and David Gravel, last year’s Williams Grove National Open winner. Several well-known California-native sprint car drivers are also entered, including Bud Kaeding, three-time USAC Silver Crown champion, Sean Becker, three-time California Civil War sprint car champion and former Cycleland Open Division champion, and World of Outlaws winner Shane Golobic.

“I’ve been a little impatient waiting to get this entry list out,” said Larson. “These are some of the best racers from across the country and being able to watch them is awesome enough, but I get to race against them, too. If anyone doubted how intense the racing is going to be, they shouldn’t after they see this list.”

Top kart racer Logan Seavey, winner of the SPEED SPORT Challenge at Millbridge Speedway in Mooresville, N.C., in May, is also entered. Other kart racers who have sent in entries include Mike Wheeler, the 2014 Speed Sport Challenge winner, Ryan Foster who boasts more than 200 kart wins, and Holly Shelton, current Cycleland Speedway points leader.

Due to the large number of Open entries and possible time constraints the Box Stock and 250 divisions will be limited to the first 30 karts. Currently, there are 24 Box Stocks and 28 250’s entered.

Deadline for entries is Aug. 1 for the discounted $50 fee or August 15th at the regular $75 entry fee. Entries will not be accepted after the Aug. 15 date or at the gate.

CREDIT: Spire Sports and Entertainment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.