USF2000: R.C. Enerson Triumphs at Sonoma; Title Chase to Come Down to Tomorrow’s Finale

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Mazda Road to Indy, Sprints & Midgets, West 0 Comments

SONOMA, Calif. – official release — USF2000 photo — A dramatic first-lap incident between Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda front-row qualifiers and title rivals Florian Latorre and R.C. Enerson ensured that the championship outcome will remain undecided until Saturday’s season finale.

Frenchman Latorre extended his championship lead to a seemingly comfortable 31-point margin by virtue of qualifying on pole for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing, but his advantage virtually evaporated at Turn Two on the opening lap when Enerson’s move to the inside resulted in contact between the two with Latorre’s car making stout contact against the barriers. With Latorre out of the race, Enerson took over the lead in the No. 7 Peninsula Pipeline/Patriot Bank/Tampa Bay Rays/Bell Helmets/Sparco Van Diemen-Mazda and held it for the remainder of the 15-lap contest.

Latorre still leads the points prior to tomorrow morning’s second leg of the USF2000 Grand Prix of Sonoma, but by a much-reduced four-point margin, 279-275, over Enerson. Latorre’s teammate, Jake Eidson, who finished third today, also remains solidly in the title picture on 269 points.

After three laps behind the pace car while Latorre’s stricken car was removed from the scene, Enerson, from New Port Richey, Fla., continued to lead at the restart from Aaron Telitz (ArmsUp Motorsports) and Eidson. Dutchman Jeroen Slaghekke ran fourth for Belardi Auto Racing but soon fell back into the clutches of Brazilian Victor Franzoni (Afterburner Autosport) and Telitz’s teammate, Peter Portante.

Portante, who qualified sixth, found his car transformed for the race. He passed Franzoni on lap seven, then quickly closed on Slaghekke before taking over fourth place with a bold move at Turn One on Lap 9, which earned him the RePlay XD Move of the Race Award. Portante soon homed in on the three leaders to make it a four-car battle in the closing stages.

Enerson continued to hold a narrow advantage over Telitz until Lap 12 when a mistake under braking for the tight Turn Nine chicane enabled Enerson to make a break. Suddenly, instead of striving for the lead, Telitz found himself defending from Eidson and Portante.

While Enerson cruised home to his series-high fifth win of the season, albeit by just 0.6587 seconds, Telitz strengthened his lead for Rookie of the Year honors and snagged his fifth podium finish – to add to his lone victory at Lucas Oil Raceway in May – ahead of Eidson and Portante.

Slaghekke finished fifth ahead of Franzoni, who was chased throughout by the JAY Motorsports pair of Colton Herta [JAY Motorsports w/ Curb-Agajanian) and Henrik Furuseth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *