USCS Sprint Tour: Hagar lays siege to Dixie; scores 9th 2013 triumph

Jacob Seelman Featured, MidSouth, Southeast, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

August 24, 2013 – By Jacob Seelman for Speed 77 Radio and RaceChaser Online – Woodstock, GA – To say that Derek Hagar has quietly taken command of the 2013 United Sprint Car Series title race would be a major understatement.

The Marion, Arkansas native and former USCS National Rookie of the Year has taken the series by storm.

Hagar dashed away to his series-leading ninth victory of 2013 Saturday night at Dixie Speedway, taking the win in dominant fashion by leading all thirty laps of the Dixie Sprint Car Nationals after starting on the K&N Filters Pole Position. 2010 USCS Southern region Rookie of the Year Eric Riggins Jr. fought his way to a runner-up finish, but didn’t have enough to chase down Hagar’s 9JR in the closing laps.

Ten-time USCS National Champion Terry Gray, 2012 Rookie of the Year Jeff Willingham and 2007 Rookie of the Year Lee Moore completed the top five. For Moore, it was his best-career USCS finish.

Terry Gray won the Hoosier Speed Dash on August 10th before heavy rains came and forced track officials to reschedule the remainder of the program. Nick DeFeo and Derek Hagar each won heat races in the night’s action, and Morgan Turpen advanced the most positions in the feature to grab the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger of the Race Award.

The United Sprint Car Series now embarks on a unique triple-header weekend of racing action over Labor Day weekend, beginning with the inaugural USCS Sprint Car Shootout at Atlanta Motor Speedway Friday night following NASCAR Sprint Cup Series qualifying! A 50-lap A-main event will be contested on the quarter-mile “Thunder Ring” on the frontstretch of AMS, with racing action set to begin at approximately 9 PM.

Saturday and Sunday, the USCS Sprint Cars return to the dirt, with events at Cleveland Speedway in Tennessee and Toccoa Speedway in Georgia rounding out the weekend’s action!

For rules, updated schedules and other info on the 2013 (17th Annual) USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour, visit or call 865-6097.

RESULTS – USCS Dixie Sprint Car Nationals – Dixie Speedway – August 24, 2013

Hoosier Speed Dash (6-laps): Terry Gray, Anthony Nicholson, Derek Hagar and Morgan Turpen. (held August 10th)

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Nick DeFeo, Eric Riggins, Jr., Lee Moore, Ray Bugg, Bob Auld, Morgan Turpen, Tyler Godwin and Jay Dunham – DNS.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Derek Hagar, Terry Gray, A.J. Maddox, Jeff Willingham, Jake McLain, Matt Kurtz, Chris Hladik and Brandon McLain.

USCS Filtercharged by K&N Filters A-main (30-laps):

Pos. Car # Driver/Hometown:
1. 9Jr Derek Hagar, Marion, AR
2. 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC
3. 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
4. 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
5. 1A Lee Moore, Tuscaloosa, AL
6. 3a A.J. Maddox, Brandon, FL
7. 10m Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
8. 96d Nick DeFeo, Woodstock, GA
9. 83 Bob Auld, Largo, FL
10. 67 Jake McLain, Indian Trail, NC
11. 11 Chris Hladik, Harrisburg, NC
12. 25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS
13. 82T Tyler Godwin, Tampa, FL
14. 82 Matt Kurtz, Jacksonville, FL
15. 6c Brandon McLain, Indian Trail, NC
16. 51 Jay Dunham, Augusta, GA


PHOTO CREDIT: United Sprint Car Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.