USAC Midgets: Kyle Hamilton Claims Inaugural Tony Stewart Midget Classic at the Indianapolis Speedrome

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, USAC 0 Comments

INDIANAPOLIS — official series release — John Mahoney photo —

Kyle Hamilton won Saturday night’s 100-lap Tony Stewart Classic USAC Midget race at the Lincoln Tech Indianapolis Speedrome.

Driving the Curtis Motor Sales/Hamilton Racing Spike/Esslinger, Hamilton led the final 87 laps after passing Billy Wease on lap 14. He built a half-lap lead before the 75-lap intermission, then declined the option of restarting last to aim for the $10,000 Shepherd Insurance Tailgunner Bonus.

Hamilton claimed the $5,000 winner’s share to beat fast qualifier Grant Galloway, Kevin Studley, Ross Rankine and Indianapolis 500 starter Gabby Chaves.

Chaves accepted the Shepherd Insurance bonus and restarted last on the lap 75 resumption but was only able to get back to fifth place before the checkered flag flew.


RESULTS: United States Auto Club; Tony Stewart Midget Classic; Indianapolis Speedrome; July 25, 2015

  1. Kyle Hamilton
  2. Grant Galloway
  3. Kevin Studley
  4. Ross Rankine
  5. Gabby Chaves
  6. Jim Anderson
  7. Kyle O’Gara
  8. Spencer Bayston
  9. Joey Burrow
  10. Jake Smith
  11. Dameron Taylor
  12. Bryan Nuckles
  13. Jon Laski
  14. Jacob Taylor
  15. Teddy Beach
  16. Billy Wease
  17. Jeff Abold
  18. Robby Parish
  19. Chase Jones
  20. Dave Baumgartner
  21. Brad Armstrong
  22. Derek Bischak
  23. Nick Hamilton
  24. Andy Nock
  25. Andy O’Gara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.