UMP MODS: Austin Dillon Claims Second DIRTcar Nationals Victory of 2015

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, NASCAR, Southeast 0 Comments

BARBERVILLE, Fla. — official release — Chris Seelman photo —

Austin Dillon, who spent the day qualifying for the Daytona 500, charged from ninth to victory on Sunday night to win the final DIRTcar UMP Modified qualifying race for Monday’s Gator Championship event.

Ken Schrader set the early pace but Dillon was pushing hard from his ninth starting position. He eventually swept past Schrader to grab the lead and pull away to the checkered flag, giving him his second Gator trophy of the week and a prime spot for Monday’s Gator Championship showcase for UMP Modifieds.

“I just made a pool, so hopefully it will swim in it later,” said Dillon, the grandson of legendary car owner Richard Childress and driver of the famous No. 3 NASCAR Sprint Cup car. “That was fun. I want to thank my Team Dillon Racing guys. I got wrecked in that heat race and I wasn’t happy about it, as you can tell by the way I was driving. Trying to get up through there, when you get inverted to fourth it’s hard in eight laps to get back to the lead.”

“I’m just proud of these guys. It’s been a fun weekend already. Had a good qualifying day over there at Daytona. Hit the wall in the Unlimited, so hopefully the rest of the week can keep going like this.”

Nightly doubleheaders at Volusia run Monday through Saturday. On Monday night, DIRTcar UMP Modifieds will compete in their DIRTcar Nationals showcase Gator Championship while DIRTcar Late Models kick off the final week of action at the half-mile dirt oval.

For more information and updates on the DIRTcar Nationals, click


DIRTcar Nationals Statistical Report; Feb. 15, 2015; Volusia Speedway Park; Barberville, Fla.

DIRTcar UMP Modified A-Main (20 Laps) – 1. 3-Austin Dillon [9] ($700); 2. 9-Ken Schrader [2]; 3. 64JR-Billy Workman Jr. [3]; 4. 40B-Kyle Bronson [16]; 5. 1G-Devin Gilpin [1]; 6. 36-Kenny Wallace [8]; 7. 88-Matt Crafton [4]; 8. 25-Tyler Nicely [7]; 9. 9M-Dale Mathison [6]; 10. 1X-Cody Erickson [10]; 11. 85-Kent Robinson [12]; 12. 51-Justin Allgaier [18]; 13. BD4-Jackie Boggs [11]; 14. D4-Dave Jamison [5]; 15. 10-Scott Mooers [14]; 16. K9-Will Krup [20]; 17. O1-Todd Sherman [13]; 18. Z8-Max McLaughlin [23]; 19. 85S-Mike Smith [21]; 20. OO-Bobby Rose [19]; 21. 11T-Dugan Thye [24]; 22. 71-Joel Ortberg [15]; 23. 1-Andy Galgoci [22]; 24. 15-Hunter Gustafson [17].

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.