SUMMIT MODIFIED NAT’LS: Devin Gilpin Roars to Atomic Speedway Modified Nationals Win

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest 0 Comments

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — official release — Jim Denhamer photo — Devin Gilpin claimed his third victory of the 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals after recapturing the lead with 10-laps remaining en route to securing the $1,000 checkered flag at Atomic Speedway.

Gilpin led the field to the green-flag with Cody Parker starting to his outside. Gilpin jumped out to an early lead as Parker faded through the field, surrendering second-place to Jackie Boggs, who started just behind the leaders in the second row.

Gilpin controlled the field for the opening four circuits, but could never pull away from Boggs who stayed glued to his back-bumper. Boggs had the fastest car and made his way around Gilpin for the lead on lap five.

Boggs looked to have the car to beat as held the lead for the next six laps. Unfortunately for the leader, his night would come to an early end after his car spun in turn four on lap 11, causing damage to his left-front suspension.

With Boggs out of the race, Gilpin would inherit the lead. Gilpin dominated the final 11-laps, but had to hold off a hard-charging Daniel Ebert on a late race caution with three laps remaining. Gilpin, following several attempts by Ebert to muscle his way to the lead, held off second-place and captured the checkered flag at Atomic Speedway.

Championship leader Mike Harrison failed to race his way into the A-Main giving second-place Jacob Poel the opportunity to cut into the slim six-point deficit. Poel only managed a 10thplace finish, failing to close in on Harrison in the closest points battle in DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals history. With three races remaining, the point deficit still sits at six-points.

Kenny Johnson, Jeremy Rayburn and Cody Parker rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Cody Parker, Kenny Johnson and Devin Gilpin.

With only three races remaining, the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals, continuing the closest points battle in series history on Thursday night at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex in Peebles, Ohio.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Atomic Speedway; Chillicothe, Ohio; July 16, 2014;

A-Main (25-laps):1. 1G-Devin Gilpin ($1,000), 2. 60-Daniel Ebert, 3. 1-Kenny Johnson, 4. 12-Jeremy Rayburn, 5. 42-Cody Parker, 6. 25B-Philip Bapst, 7. 21-Taylor Cook, 8. 8P-Fireball Pinkerton, 9. 13J-Adam Colley, 10. 82-Jacob Poel, 11. 36-Kenny Wallace, 12. 18-David McWilliams, 13. K9-Scott Gerdeman, 14. 17-Brandon Ramsey, 15. 75C-Steven Clemmons, 16. 8-Jimmy Lennex, 17. 20-Kevin Dulaney, 18. D4-Jackie Boggs, 19. 21S-Seth Daniels, 20. 1PJ-Shawn Holliday, 21. 22-Brandon Oliver, 22. 10L-Nathan Loney.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *