SUMMIT MODIFIED NAT’LS: Daniel Ebert Dominates Brushcreek for First Modified Nationals Win of Season

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest 0 Comments

PEEBLES, Ohio — official release — Jim Denhamer photo — Daniel Ebert captured his first victory of the 2014 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals season in dominating fashion after leading flag-to-flag on Thursday night at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex.

Ebert, of Lake Shore, Minn., started the 20-lap feature event from the outside of row one, with Taylor Cook starting from the pole-position. Ebert wasted little time capturing the lead as he rocketed past Cook on the backstretch of the opening lap.

Once out front, Ebert kept his car glued on the faster outside line which kept Cook from mounting a serious charge on the leader. Cook worked his way to the inside of Ebert on several occasions but could never get enough momentum to complete the pass for the lead. Unfortunately for Cook his bid for the victory would come to an early end as he tried to power his way to the inside of the leader and spun his car after trying to avoid contact with Ebert.

With Cook at the back of the field, Ebert faced challenges from Jackie Boggs on several restarts around the halfway point in the race, but Ebert’s car proved to be too strong for Boggs. Ebert pulled away from Boggs on a restart with four laps to go, and cruised to the $1,000 checkered flag at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex.

For the second night in-a-row, Jacob Poel was involved in an accident in his heat race, resulting in a poor starting position. Poel’s bad luck carried over to the feature event where he finished in the 16th position, again failing to gain ground on an absent Mike Harrison in the championship standings. With just two races remaining, Poel is still just six-points behind Harrison for the $5,000 title.

Kenny Johnson, Dave Jamison and David McWilliams rounded out the top five. Heat race winners were Taylor Cook and Daniel Ebert.

With only two races remaining, the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals in continuing the closest points battle in series history on Friday night at Attica Raceway Park in Attica, Ohio.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Brushcreek Motorsports Complex; Peebles, Ohio; July 17, 2014;

A-Main (20-laps):1. 60-Daniel Ebert ($1,000), 2. D4-Jackie Boggs, 3. 1-Kenny Johnson, 4. D4J-Dave Jamison, 5. 18-David McWilliams, 6. 13J-Adam Colley, 7. 89-Blake Terry, 8. 10L-Nathan Loney, 9. 19-Walt Mayabb, 10. K9-Scott Gerdeman, 11. 6-TJ Schulz, 12. 26-Jason Bilyeu, 13. 21-Taylor Cook, 14. 17-Brandon Ramsey, 15. 12-Jeremy Rayburn, 16. 82-Jacob Poel, 17. 1G-Devin Gilpin, 18. 8-Cody Mayabb.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *