SOUTHEAST: 160-Plus Entries Set to Tackle Larson’s Outlaw Kart Showcase

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Mini Outlaws, Southwest, Sprints & Midgets, West 0 Comments

Kyle Larson (1K) slides around Cycleland Speedway during last year's Kyle Larson Outlaw Kart Showcase. (Emily Bertolino photo)

Kyle Larson (1K) slides around Cycleland Speedway during last year’s Kyle Larson Outlaw Kart Showcase. (Emily Bertolino photo)

CORNELIUS, N.C. — More than 160 total entries have been recorded for Kyle Larson’s Outlaw Kart Showcase Presented by ParkerStore.

The event will be held Monday and Tuesday, Sept. 5 and 6, at Cycleland Speedway in Chico, Calif.

The entry list, headlined by Larson himself, boasts drivers from 13 states, ranging in age from 7 to 60 in the three divisions – Box Stock, 250 Intermediate, and Open.

Two-time defending Chili Bowl Midget Nationals champion Rico Abreu will be competing again in the Showcase. Abreu, a full-time regular in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, has eight race wins this year in open wheel cars, including Tony Stewart’s All Star Circuit of Champions Dirt Classic at Kokomo Speedway in Indiana on July 23.

Also entered is former Northern California resident Bryan Clauson, now of Noblesville, Indiana.  Clauson is attempting to compete in 200 total racing events this year, one of which was May’s Indianapolis 500. He’s currently competed in an incredible 112 events against the toughest open wheel series in the country and in New Zealand, already winning 26 features this season.

Other open wheel drivers entered into the event include David Gravel, currently second in the World of Outlaws point standings, and Brad Sweet, the 2013 Kings Royal Champion. Paul McMahan, originally from Larson’s hometown of Elk Grove, Calif., is another WoO competitor entered.

Defending Outlaw Kart Showcase winner Colby Copeland will be back to take on all comers, as will 2015 National Midget Driver of the Year Tanner Thorson, who is still very active in outlaw karts.

“The entry list this year really has some standout names,” said Larson. “These are some of the biggest stars in grassroots racing, and this is shaping up to be another great show this year. I can’t wait to race against these guys, and all the top outlaw kart specialists that I know will be gunning for us.”

Top kart racer Logan Seavey, considered by some as the best in outlaw kart racing and winner of the 2015 Speed Sport Challenge at Millbridge Speedway in Salisbury, N.C., is also entered.

Other kart racers who have sent in entries include Karsyn Ellege, from Mooresville, N.C., granddaughter of the late Dale Earnhardt, Kyle Hossfeld, the recent winner of the Wild West Shootout at Big Sky Kartway in Missoula, Mont., and the current top three in Cycleland Speedway points, Tanner Carrick, Jodie Robinson and Morgan Sandhagen.

CREDIT: Spire Sports + Ent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.