Southern Nationals Series $3,500-to-win Super Late Models This Tuesday at Volunteer Speedway

RaceChaser Staff Featured, MidSouth 0 Comments

BULLS GAP, Tenn. — Ray Cook is recognized as one of the top dirt late model racers in the country, and he’s also gained much acclaim promoting his Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series which is now in its ninth season. The Southern Nationals Series features 10 Super Late Model special events across the Southeast in the span of 13 days, with races held in Virginia, Georgia, Alabama and Tennessee.

Tracks hosting events in 2013 between July 15-27 include Wythe Raceway (Rural Retreat, Va.), Volunteer Speedway (Bulls Gap, Tenn.), East Alabama Motor Speedway (Phenix City, Ala.), Swainsboro (Ga.) Raceway, Screven Speedway (Sylvania, Ga.), Rome (Ga.) Speedway, North Georgia Speedway (Chatsworth, Ga.), Duck River Raceway Park (Wheel, Tenn.), Smoky Mountain Speedway (Maryville, Tenn.), and Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway.

Jeff Cooke of Spartanburg, S.C., won the 2005 Southern Nationals Series title. Anthony White of Clinton, Tenn., was champion in 2006, with Gray Court, S.C.-chauffeur Chris Madden winning championships in 2007, ’08 and 2011 and ’12. Tommy Kerr of Maryville, Tenn., claimed the championship in 2009, with Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga, winning the title in 2010. Who will be champion in 2013?

Volunteer Speedway will host the Southern Nationals Series for the second event of the two-week tour on Tuesday, July 16 for a $3,500-to-win … $450-to-start Super Late Model main event. Also racing Tuesday night besides Super Late Models will be the Fastrak Racing Series-sanctioned Pro (Crate) Late Model and Mini Stock divisions.

Previous Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series winners at Volunteer Speedway are Jimmy Owens (2006 & ’07), Tommy Kerr (’08 & ’09), Jonathan Davenport (2010), Chris Madden (’11), and Casey Roberts (’12).

Among drivers “tentatively” expected to compete Tuesday, July 16 are NASCAR Camping World Truck Series racer Joey Coulter — plus four-time defending Southern Nationals Series champion Chris Madden (Gray Court, S.C.), Steve Casebolt (Richmond, Ind.), Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, Ga.), five-time Volunteer Speedway Super Late Model champion Vic Hill (Morristown, Tenn.), Billy Ogle Jr. (Knoxville, Tenn.), Clint Smith (Senoia, Ga.), Brian Reese (Sharpsburg, Ga.), Chad Ogle (Sevierville, Tenn.), Mark Vineyard (Powell, Tenn.), Mark Douglas (Knoxville, Tenn.), Bryan Hendrix (Knoxville, Tenn.), Josh Henry (Newport, Tenn.), Kennie Compton (Bland, Va.), Daniel Baggerly (Rural Retreat, Va.), and several others.

Adult grandstand admission on Tuesday, July 16 is $20, seniors (age 55 and above) $18, youth (ages 11-15) $5, with kids 10-and-under admitted free in the grandstands. Pit passes and backside tier-parking $30, regardless of age.

The pit gate will open at 4 p.m. and the grandstands at 6 p.m. Hotlaps are tentatively scheduled to begin at 7:45 p.m. (once the sun begins to set over the track), to be followed by qualifying and then racing action beginning around 9 p.m.

Tell your family, friends, neighbors and co-workers all about racing at Volunteer Speedway. You can’t beat the excitement of an action-packed night of racing at “The Gap!”

Directions to Volunteer Speedway: South on Interstate 81 from Tennessee/Virginia state lines, take Exit 23 (Bulls Gap/Greeneville), then turn right onto Hwy. 11-E at bottom of the exit ramp. Look for track entrance approximately 200 yards on left.

North on Interstate 81 from I-81/I-40 split (East of Knoxville, TN), take Exit 23, then turn left onto Hwy. 11-E at bottom of the exit ramp. Continue underneath the interstate over-pass and track entrance approximately 300 yards ahead on left.
PHOTO CREDIT:  Vic Hill (Connie Putnam Photos)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *