SDS: Matt Sheppard Victorious in Super DIRTcar Series Return to Williams Grove

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Super DIRTcar Series 0 Comments

Matt Sheppard celebrated his 36th career Super DIRTcar Series victory on Wednesday night. (Steve Sabo photo)

Matt Sheppard celebrated his 36th career Super DIRTcar Series victory on Wednesday night. (Steve Sabo photo)

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. — In the first visit in 10 years by the Super DIRTcar Series Modifieds to Williams Grove Speedway, it was Matt Sheppard taking the $6,000 win Wednesday night. It was the 36th career series win for the four-time champion.

Tim Fuller started on the pole of the 100-lap modified feature and grabbed the early race lead over Ryan Watt and Sheppard. The first caution flew when Stewart Friesen slowed with seven laps completed.

Sheppard would get by Watt for second on the restart as Fuller continued to lead. Billy Decker was running fourth and Dave Blaney was up to fifth from eighth.

The caution flew when Eldon Payne’s tire shredded on the frontstretch with 19 laps completed. Watt would get back by Sheppard for second. Fuller led a freight train of modifieds around the inside line of the speedway as the top groove went away.

Fuller held a comfortable lead as Sheppard would get back around Watt for second with a move off turn four and down the frontstretch. Fuller closed on the back of the field and Sheppard closed on him.

The leaders got a break with 37 laps completed when Danny Johnson slowed in turn four. The top three remained the same following the restart, but Blaney moved up to fourth.

Sheppard began to pressure Fuller for the lead. They made contact in turn four and Sheppard was the new leader as they completed lap 53. Watt slowed moving Blaney up to third and bringing out the caution flag.

The top three remained the same following the restart, but another caution flew with 61 completed. Two more cautions slowed the pace.

Blaney tried to take second but couldn’t quite make the pass as they raced into turn one. A third turn spin slowed the field again with 25 to go. Blaney was able to make the pass work this time.

Sheppard initially pulled away, but Blaney was there with 15 laps left. Blaney got to Sheppard’s bumper two times, but couldn’t get to his inside.

Blaney’s final shot came with seven laps to go as the caution flew.

Sheppard got a good restart and controlled the final laps to get the win by 2.702 seconds over Blaney, Fuller, Larry Wight and Decker.

“The track starting locking down a little bit early,” said Sheppard. “I decided to ride it out and drive the car nice and straight. On the long runs, it seemed like the guys in front of us would get slower and slower and we’d maintain. I think that’s what won the race for us tonight. I was able to keep the air in the right rear tire. Once we got out front, I wanted to hit my marks and take it easy and drive the thing straight and we were able to do that. To put a win at Williams Grove on my resume means a lot.”

Brett Hearn set overall quick time with a lap of 20.893 seconds.

RESULTS; Super DIRTcar Series; Williams Grove Speedway; June 22, 2016

  1. Matt Sheppard
  2. Dave Blaney
  3. Tim Fuller
  4. Larry Wight
  5. Billy Decker
  6. Stewart Friesen
  7. Frank Cozze
  8. Mike Mahoney
  9. Brett Hearn
  10. Keith Flach
  11. Chad Phelps
  12. Vic Coffey
  13. Peter Britten
  14. Max McLaughlin
  15. Ryan Arbithnot
  16. Duane Howard
  17. Pat Ward
  18. Ryan Watt
  19. Yan Bussiere
  20. Erick Rudolph
  21. Jimmy Phelps
  22. Rick Regalski Jr.
  23. Danny Johnson
  24. Tyler Dippel
  25. Rick Scagliotta
  26. Eldon Payne
  27. Tom Sheetz
  28. Dominick Buffalino
  29. Jimmy Horton
  30. Matt Williamson



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.