RENEGADES: Danny Smith Sets Quick Time for Open Wheel Championships

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio – official release — DB3 Imaging/ILP photo —

Night 1 of the Open Wheel Championships at Atomic Speedway was a rousing success for the Renegade Sprints.

Danny Smith led 53 drivers in qualifying on Friday at the high-banked track, which hosts the $1,000-to-win dash and the $15,000-to-win main event on Saturday.

“It was a great way to kick off this event,” Renegade Sprints President Shane Helms said. “We had exciting racing all night and Saturday’s dash and main event are set up to be excellent. I think we will see side-by-side racing throughout the night.”

Smith, who received a $500 bonus for setting quick time during qualifying, advanced through his heat race along with fast qualifiers Greg Wilson, Chad Kemenah, Danny Lasoski, Dale Blaney, Cole Duncan, Nathan Skaggs, Brady Bacon, Tyler Courtney and Jimmy Stinson.

Those 10 drivers made it into the dash on Saturday by virtue of their qualifying times and finishing in the top three of a heat race. The results of the dash, which pays $1,000 to the winner and at least $100 to all starters, will determine the first five rows of the $15,000-to-win feature.

On Friday, Sheldon Haudenschild, Wilson, Bacon, Lasoski, Blaney and Tim Shaffer each won a heat race. Brandy Bower claimed the C Main and Bill Balog was victorious in the B Main.

Additionally, the top 20 drivers who didn’t advance into Saturday’s main event through heat race, C Main and B Main action on Friday will be eligible to compete in the $2,065-to-win Charlie McCann Memorial. That will be the first race on Saturday’s schedule.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.