NXS: New Track Record; Logano on Pole for Great Clips 250

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, NASCAR 0 Comments

BROOKLYN, Mich. — official series release — Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images North America photo —

Joey Logano won the Coors Light Pole Award for the NASCAR XFINITY Series on Saturday at Michigan International Speedway with a final-round speed of 193.637 mph.

Logano’s speed of 193.772 mph in Round 1 set a track record.

It was Logano’s 29th pole win in the series and his first at Michigan. Logano will line up on the front row alongside Brian Scott for Saturday’s Great Clips 250 (1:30 p.m. ET, FOX Sports 1, MRN, SiriusXM).

Darrell Wallace Jr., Kyle Larson and Paul Menard rounded out the top-five finishers.

Chase Elliott and Kyle Busch failed to get to the start-finish line in time for their qualifying laps to count. That proved to be costly for Elliott, who posted a better speed than Logano in the final round.

Ty Dillon led the second round with a speed of 193.522 mph, while Denny Hamlin was the first driver to miss the cut to the final round. Series points leader Chris Buescher also did not advance to the final round and will start 20th.

CJ Faison hit the wall with his No. 26 Toyota during Round 1, bringing out the red flag.

RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series; Coors Light Pole Qualifying; Michigan International Speedway; June 13, 2015

1. Joey Logano

2. Brian Scott

3. Darrell Wallace Jr.

4. Kyle Larson

5. Paul Menard

6. Brendan Gaughan

7. Kevin Harvick

8. Regan Smith

9. Ty Dillon

10. Daniel Suarez

11. Chase Elliott

12. Kyle Busch

13. Denny Hamlin

14. Aric Almirola

15. Alex Bowman

16. Elliott Sadler

17. Ryan Sieg

18. Dakoda Armstrong

19. Ryan Reed

20. Chris Buescher

21. David Starr

22. Harrison Rhodes

23. Ross Chastain

24. J.J. Yeley

25. Blake Koch

26. Jeffrey Earnhardt

27. Jeremy Clements

28. Landon Cassill

29. Cale Conley

30. CJ Faison

31. Jeff Green

32. Eric McClure

33. Peyton Sellers

34. Martin Roy

35. Joey Gase

36. Josh Reaume

37. Jimmy Weller

38. Derrike Cope

39. Carl Long

40. Mike Harmon


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.