NSL: Lasoski Sweeps the Road to Knoxville; Wins Sixth National Sprint League Event of 2015

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Plains, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

GREENWOOD, Neb. — official series release — Rob Kocak/NSL photo —

Danny Lasoski led all 30 laps to complete a sweep of the two-night Road to Knoxville at the I-80 Speedway on Friday.

Friday’s finale was worth $10,000 to Lasoski aboard the Big Game Motorsports No. 2. The win was his sixth with the FVP National Sprint League this season and gave him $15,000 in his two-night sweep on the four-tenths-mile oval.

Lasoski drew the pole and shot out to an early lead over Bryan Clauson and Tim Kaeding. With a lap completed, Paul Nienhiser slowed on the frontstretch bringing the caution flag.  Lasoski led Clauson, Kaeding, Lynton Jeffrey and Terry McCarl back to green-flag racing.

While Lasoski pulled away, Kaeding and Clauson battled for second, while Ian Madsen worked into the top five from the 10th spot.  Bryan Gossel spun with six laps in the books to bring another caution.  When the green fell, Lasoski pulled away, while Kaeding used the low groove to move by Clauson for second.  The pair battled for the spot for 15 laps.

Back in the pack, Bill Balog moved into the top ten from the 20th starting spot by the halfway point.  A battle back in the pack saw him mixing it up with Mark Dobmeier, Brian Brown and Willie Croft. Up front, Lasoski had built over a four second lead on Kaeding, who was receiving constant pressure from Clauson.

Disaster struck for Clauson with seven laps to go when his car went up in smoke.  The final caution of the race saw a dash to the checkered flag.

Lasoski pulled away, ahead of Kaeding, Madsen, McCarl and Brooke Tatnell.  Jeffrey, Jamie Veal, Matt Juhl, Brown and Balog rounded out the top 10.

“We have to thank that young man for drawing us the one pill,” said Lasoski. “Track position was key tonight. The bottom was sticky and you had to stay there. Lapped traffic was pretty tough. Our team has confidence, but not an overabundance of it.  We know it takes a lot of luck.  When we roll into Knoxville, we’ll give it 100 percent.”

“They’ve been fast all year,” said Kaeding.  “To get a podium finish tonight was really exciting.  We’ve been consistently fast all year, but we’ve started in the back too much. It’s been a rough couple of days finding out my grandpa has a month to live. This goes out to him.”

“I had an awesome racecar,” said Madsen.  “I made some moves and was able to get through there early. I knew TK was committed to the bottom on that last restart and tried to make some moves on the top. I just couldn’t quite get it done. It was still an awesome run for my team.”


RESULTS: FVP National Sprint League; Road to Knoxville; I-80 Speedway; July 31, 2015

FVP A Main (30 laps): 1. 2, Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO [1]; 2. 3, Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA [3]; 3. 18, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust. [10]; 4. 24, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA [5]; 5. 55, Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, Aust. [8]; 6. 12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA [4]; 7. 35AU, Jamie Veal, Warrnambool, VIC, Aust. [7]; 8. 09, Matt Juhl, Tea, SD [12]; 9. 21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO [14]; 10. 17B, Bill Balog, Brookfield, WI [20]; 11. 13, Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, ND [17]; 12. 29, Willie Croft, Roseville, CA [11]; 13. 2L, Logan Forler, Boise, ID [18]; 14. 7TAZ, Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA [15]; 15. 69, Michael Moore, Des Moines, IA [16]; 16. 6, Bryan Gossel, Windsor, CO [13]; 17. 41A, Andee Beierle, Bismarck, ND [19]; 18. 17w, Bryan Clauson, Noblesville, IN [2]; 19. 4K, Thomas Jeffrey, Kelleyville, NSW, Aust. [9]; 20. 5H, Dakota Hendrickson, Omaha, NE [21]; 21. 17A, Austin McCarl, Altoona, IA [22]; 22. 9, Paul Nienhiser, Chapin, IL [6].

Lap Leader: Lasoski 1-30.

KSE Hard-Charger: Bill Balog (+10)

CREDIT: FVP National Sprint League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.