NSL: Kaeding Claims National Sprint League Finale at I-80; Lasoski Honored as Series Champion

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Plains, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

GREENWOOD, Neb. — official series release — Rob Kocak photo —

Tim Kaeding had racked up seven KSE Hard-charger awards and four second-place finishes with the FVP National Sprint League before Saturday’s Fearless 410 Finale at the I-80 Speedway.

Kaeding saved the best for last, racing from 14th on the grid to win the season finale in the Lunstra Motorsports No. 3, while Danny Lasoski was crowned the first series champion.

Ian Madsen shot out to the early lead in the 30-lap event ahead of Steve Kinser and Lasoski.  Kinser would slide under Madsen to lead lap two, but Madsen fought back and lead a circuit later.  Furious action ensued not only at the front, but throughout the pack.

Tasker Phillips used the low side to move by Lasoski for third on lap three. Three laps later, Bill Balog took third from Phillips as the two dueled. Meanwhile, Kaeding was on the move, entering the top five by the fifth lap. Riding the cushion by the fence, he drove under Balog on lap 10 to take third.  Four laps later, he shot under Kinser in lapped traffic to take second.

Kaeding reeled in Madsen the next two laps and the two leaders exchanged sliders in traffic. Kaeding madethe pass for the lead on lap 17. Kinser took second, while Balog rejoined the lead trio with a pass of Madsen on lap 19.

The lone caution flag of the event came for Austin McCarl, who spun with four laps to go. The restart saw Kaeding leading Kinser, Balog, Dominic Scelzi and Madsen back to green flag racing.  Scelzi, who was spending his first weekend in a sprint car in the Midwest shot to third on the restart.

Kaeding pulled away the final four laps to take the $7,000 finale, ahead of Kinser, Scelzi, Balog and Bryan Clauson.

“It was my motto,” said Kaeding.  “Live and die by the high side.  I hope the fans enjoyed it. I know I enjoyed the donuts. I lost my grandfather this year and I want to dedicate this to him.  Just a lot of bad luck this year. It’s great to get this No. 3 car in victory lane with this NSL deal. We’ve been close and we struggled.  We drove by everybody tonight and I’m happy about that.”

“We got the car a little better tonight,” said Kinser.  “I’d have liked to win it, but we didn’t get the job done.  I about had Tim. He was using his tire up  I took a shot at him on the bottom and about lost a spot. We ran him down there at the end, but if I caught him, I don’t know that I could have passed him.”

“I saw Tim roll by me on the fence,” said Scelzi. “I thought it kind of looks like Tulare up there. I got up top and I was scared to be honest. It looked kind of treacherous.  I tried to save my tires at the beginning and this place is about throttle control. There’s not many places like this that I’ve been before. To be able to run this well with these guys…I just can’t believe I got to race with Steve Kinser. To go wheel to wheel like that was a childhood dream.”

Lasoski’s championship with the FVP National Sprint League was worth $75,000.  He led the series with nine wins.

“First of all, I need to thank Tod and Lisa Quiring for this opportunity,” he said.  “They could have chosen anyone they wanted, and they chose us.  My hat’s off to (crew chief) Guy Forbrook.  It didn’t show tonight with our performance, but that’s just one night.  We win together and lose together.”


RESULTS: FVP National Sprint League; Fearless 410 Finale; I-80 Speedway; October 3, 2015

FVP A main (started), 30 laps: 1. 3, Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA [14]; 2. 11, Steve Kinser, Bloomington, IN [3]; 3. 33, Dominic Scelzi, Fresno, CA [5]; 4. 17B, Bill Balog, Brookfield, WI [6]; 5. 17w, Bryan Clauson, Noblesville, IN [8]; 6. 12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA [9]; 7. 18, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust. [1]; 8. 21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO [7]; 9. 24, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA [15]; 10. 2KS, Craig Dollansky, Elk River, MN [16]; 11. 09, Matt Juhl, Tea, SD [10]; 12. 13, Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, ND [12]; 13. 1B, Jake Bubak, Arvada, CO [11]; 14. 7TAZ, Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA [2]; 15. o5, Brad Loyet, Sunset Hills, MO [20]; 16. 2, Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO [4]; 17. 55, Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, Aust. [13]; 18. 4A, Jon Agan, Knoxivlle, IA [21]; 19. 4. Dakota Hendrickson, Omaha, NE [22]; 20. 17A, Austin McCarl, Altoona, IA [18]; 21. 7R, Stacey Alexander, Lacona, IA [23]; 22. 9N, Wade Nygaard, Grand Forks, ND [19]; 23. 8H, Jade Hastings, Grand Forks, ND [24]; 24. 17, Josh Baughman, Odessa, TX [17].

Lap Leaders: Ian Madsen 1, Steve Kinser 2, Ian Madsen 3-16, Tim Kaeding 17-30.

KSE Hard-Charger: Tim Kaeding +13

CREDIT: FVP National Sprint League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.