NSCS: Kurt is Quick in Kansas; Busch Leads Opening Cup Practice

Kyle Magda Featured, Midwest, NASCAR 0 Comments

KANSAS City, Kan. — Report by Race Chaser Online Northeast Correspondent Kyle Magda —  Jamie Squire/Getty Images North America photo —

Kurt Busch has yet to chalk up a win at Kansas Speedway, but the No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet was fast Friday morning.

Busch posted the fast lap of 29.049 seconds (185.893 mph) early in the session and the 2004 Cup champ is still looking for win No. 1 in 2016.

Another driver on the brink of cracking into victory lane, Martin Truex Jr., was second quick (185.467 mph) in the No. 78 Bass Pro Shops Toyota. Truex has two runner-up finishes at the 1.5-mile track and was in contention for the win late in last year’s spring event.

Carl Edwards led the Gibbs bunch in third (185.020 mph) and already locked a spot into this year’s Chase for the Sprint Cup by virtue of his two wins at Bristol and Richmond. The top-three in practice all ran over 185 mph in the opening session.

Austin Dillon was fourth (184.925 mph), with Trevor Bayne in fifth (184.811 mph). Four of the top-five drivers have yet to win in 2016 and be a part of NASCAR’s playoffs. Dillon is knocking on the door of his first Cup win after going from 17th to third in the final three laps last weekend at Talladega.

Daytona 500 winner Denny Hamlin turned the sixth-fastest time at 29.233 seconds (184.723 mph) as 2013 fall Kansas winner Kevin Harvick slotted in seventh( 184.565 mph).

Behind them were a pair of Fords in Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (eighth) and Aric Almirola (ninth). Matt Kenseth returns to the track which changed the complexion of the 2015 championship and was 10th fastest (184.42 mph)

Last fall’s winner Joey Logano posted the 14th-quickest speed (184.319 mph) in his No. 22 Shell/Pennzoil Ford.

Kyle Busch tried to practice getting on pit road but missed the commitment cone wide-right. Luckily, it’s only practice.

All 40 cars took time in first practice and get a short break until Cup drivers get back on track for final practice at 1:30 p.m. ET (FS1, MRN)


RESULTS: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series; First Practice; Kansas Speedway; May 6, 2016

  1. Kurt Busch
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Carl Edwards
  4. Austin Dillon
  5. Trevor Bayne
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  9. Aric Almirola
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. Jimmie Johnson
  12. Chase Elliott
  13. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  14. Joey Logano
  15. Tony Stewart
  16. Kyle Larson
  17. Jamie McMurray
  18. A.J. Allmendinger
  19. Brad Keselowski
  20. Ryan Newman
  21. Kyle Busch
  22. Casey Mears
  23. Paul Menard
  24. Greg Biffle
  25. Brian Scott
  26. Ryan Blaney
  27. Matt DiBenedetto
  28. Danica Patrick
  29. Clint Bowyer
  30. Kasey Kahne
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. Chris Buescher
  33. Regan Smith
  34. Michael McDowell
  35. Josh Wise
  36. Cole Whitt
  37. Michael Annett
  38. David Ragan
  39. Joey Gase
  40. Reed Sorenson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.