NSCS: The No. 3 Is Fast; Austin Dillon Paces Happy Hour Practice

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, NASCAR 0 Comments

BROOKLYN, Mich — official series release — Josh Hedges/Getty Images North America photo —

Austin Dillon locked down the fastest lap in final NASCAR Sprint Cup Series practice Saturday at Michigan International Speedway.

Dillon guided the Richard Childress Racing No. 3 Chevrolet to a session-topping run of 194.301 mph around the 2-mile track. He will start eighth in Sunday’s FireKeepers Casino 400 (1 p.m. ET, FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), the 15th of 36 races this year for NASCAR’s top division.

Home-state driver Brad Keselowski flew to the second-fastest lap in the 55-minute final tune-up, ringing up a 194.013-mph run in the Team Penske No. 2 Ford.Jimmie Johnson (193.851 mph), Trevor Bayne (193.778 mph) and defending race winner Kurt Busch (193.741 mph) rounded out the top five on the speed charts.

The session marked the final prep for new aerodynamic rules that further reduce the downforce and sideforce effects of the 2016 aero package. Speeds decreased Saturday on the warmest day of the weekend in the Irish Hills region, significantly down from the 201.630 mph lap that rookie Chase Elliott posted in Friday’s first practice.

Elliott had a slight brush with the right-rear fender of the Hendrick Motorsports No. 24 Chevrolet in the latter moments of the final session. The Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidate, scheduled to start 10th in Sunday’s 400-miler, was 21st-fastest in final practice.

Coors Light Pole Award winner Joey Logano clinched the ninth spot on the leaderboard with a 193.304 mph lap in the Team Penske No. 22 Ford.


RESULTS: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series; Final Practice; Michigan International Speedway; June 11, 2016

  1. Austin Dillon
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Trevor Bayne
  5. Kurt Busch
  6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Kyle Larson
  9. Joey Logano
  10. A.J. Allmendinger
  11. Denny Hamlin
  12. Ryan Newman
  13. Greg Biffle
  14. Ryan Blaney
  15. Matt Kenseth
  16. Kevin Harvick
  17. Carl Edwards
  18. Kyle Busch
  19. Tony Stewart
  20. Chris Buescher
  21. Chase Elliott
  22. Aric Almirola
  23. Casey Mears
  24. Kasey Kahne
  25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  26. Ty Dillon
  27. Jamie McMurray
  28. Danica Patrick
  29. Clint Bowyer
  30. Paul Menard
  31. Brian Scott
  32. Regan Smith
  33. Matt DiBenedetto
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Josh Wise
  36. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  37. David Ragan
  38. Michael Annett


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.