NMDOTY: Abreu Leads Fight for Nat’l Midget Driver of the Year Award to Turkey Night Finale

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets, West 0 Comments

PERRIS, Calif. – official press release by Bryan Gapinski — USAC photo —

Rico Abreu holds an eight-point lead over teammate Tanner Thorson in the 2015 and 17th annual National Midget Driver of the Year Championship heading into Thursday’s 75th running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix at Perris Auto Speedway.

Darren Hagen trails Abreu by 55-points in third place. Spencer Bayston and three-time defending NMODTY Champion Bryan Clauson, also remain in mathematical contention in fourth and fifth place.

A total of 160 points is available on Thursday. The event is the 155th midget event of the season. Abreu’s eight point lead is the second smallest heading into a season final event in the sixteen-year history of the NMDOTY. In car owner points Kunz-Curb-Agajanian#67 has clinched the Car Owners Championship.

Frankie Guerinni III clinched the Western Midget Driver of the Year Championship presented by West Evans Motorsports & Western Speed Performance on Friday at Madera Speedway, despite an 11th place feature finish.

The top 10 NMDOTY drivers, the car owner’s champion, Manufacturers Champions, Rookie of the Year and Western Region Champion will all receive their point fund checks and trophies during the annual awards ceremony, held during the final night of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals on Jan. 16, 2016.

CREDIT: National Midget Driver of the Year / Gapinski Racing Enterprises

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.