NHRA: Todd to Replace Massey in Traxxas Nitro Shootout at Indianapolis

RaceChaser Staff Drag Racing, Featured, Midwest, NHRA 0 Comments

CLERMONT, Ind. — official series release — NHRA photo —

NHRA officials announced late Monday that Seattle winner J.R. Todd has been inserted into the Traxxas Nitro Shootout Top Fuel field in place of Spencer Massey, who did not enter the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals prior to the posted deadline.

Todd is placed into the field by virtue of his recent victory at the NHRA Northwest Nationals at Pacific Raceways. Positions 1-7 in the Traxxas Nitro Shootout are earned based on event victories as the primary method, followed by points position as the secondary option.

As a result, Todd is no longer eligible for the ongoing fan vote for position No. 8.

“I am excited that the Optima Batteries team is now locked in to the Traxxas Shootout,” Todd said. “I must also say thank you to my fans and friends who have posted on social media and sent so many votes in on my behalf.  My team is honored to participate.”

The updated ladder for the Traxxas Nitro Shootout for Top Fuel is as follows:

TRAXXAS Nitro Shootout (Top Fuel):
1. Tony Schumacher vs. No. 8 fan vote/lottery
2. Antron Brown vs. No. 7 J.R. Todd
3. Richie Crampton vs. No. 6 Steve Torrence
4. Doug Kalitta vs. No. 5 Shawn Langdon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.