NCWTS: Byron Paces Opening Homestead Practice; Sauter On Top Of Chase Contenders

Kyle Souza Featured, NASCAR, Southeast, Trucks 0 Comments


William Byron will be searching the owner’s championship Friday night. (Sarah Crabill/Getty Images North America photo)

HOMESTEAD, Fla. — Last week, William Byron came just laps away from advancing to the championship four in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. However, a motor blew in the final stages and it cost him that chance.

Friday, he will still be chasing an owner’s championship in his No. 9 truck for Kyle Busch Motorsports and so far, the day is off to a great start.

Byron was fastest in the first of two practice sessions at Homestead-Miami Speedway, touring the oval with a fast lap of 31.411 seconds (171.914 mph) behind the wheel of his No. 9 Liberty University Toyota. Behind Byron was NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular Kyle Larson, who posted a fast lap of 31.539 seconds (171.217 mph) behind the wheel of his No. 24 DC Solar Chevrolet.

In the driver’s championship battle, Johnny Sauter set the early pace among the four championship contenders. Sauter posted a time of 31.549 seconds (171.162 mph), good enough for third fastest overall. His closest challenger was former teammate Matt Crafton, who is searching his third championship on Friday night. Crafton was fifth fastest overall in the session with a lap of 31.554 seconds (171.135 mph).

Timothy Peters, who is hoping to win his first championship Friday night, was 11th fastest in the session with a fast lap of 31.859 seconds (169.497 mph). Christopher Bell, who is also searching his first title, was 14th quick with a lap of 32.056 seconds (168.455 mph).

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will return to the track at 10:30 a.m. for the final practice session. At 3:30 p.m., the teams will qualify for tonight’s race. Just after 8 p.m., the green flag will fly on the 21st Annual Ford EcoBoost 200, the season’s final event.


RESULTS: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Practice No. 1; Homestead-Miami Speedway; Nov. 18, 2016

  1. William Byron
  2. Kyle Larson
  3. Johnny Sauter
  4. Cole Custer
  5. Matt Crafton
  6. Tyler Reddick
  7. Ben Kennedy
  8. Ben Rhodes
  9. Daniel Hemric
  10. Spencer Gallagher
  11. Timothy Peters
  12. Rico Abreu
  13. John H Nemechek
  14. Christopher Bell
  15. Jesse Little
  16. Matt Tifft
  17. Ryan Truex
  18. Austin Wayne Self
  19. Brady Boswell
  20. Cameron Hayley
  21. Scott Lagasse Jr.
  22. Daniel Suarez
  23. Noah Gragson
  24. Austin Hill
  25. Grant Enfinger
  26. Stewart Friesen
  27. Alon Day
  28. Reed Sorenson
  29. Tommy Joe Martins
  30. Patrick Staropoli
  31. Travis Kvapil
  32. Jordan Anderson
  33. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  34. Spencer Boyd


About the Writer 

Souza head shotKyle Souza is an aspiring Journalism major at the Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.  Souza is Race Chaser Online’s New England motorsports insider, covering everything from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the NASCAR Whelen All American Series and the PASS North Super Late Models.

When not writing, Souza works at the Seekonk Speedway as the track’s Friday night public address announcer and press writer, and is also the Media Director for both the Granite State Pro Stock Series and the Tri Track Open Modified Series.

Email Kyle at:

Follow on Twitter: @Kouza34

Email Race Chaser Online:

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.