NCATS: Dumoulin Celebrates Hometown Win; Points Leader Victorious In Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres

RaceChaser Staff Featured, International, NASCAR 0 Comments

TROIS-RIVIERES, Que. – By Tim Southers, NASCAR — Matthew Murnaghan/NASCAR photo — With the Dumoulin family celebrating their 45th season of racing, it was second-generation driver L.P. Dumoulin who raced to victory in the 45th running of the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres Sunday in NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 competition.

Dumoulin was able to get past Kerry Micks just before the halfway point of the race and hold off a furious charge by Andrew Ranger late in the closing laps to win the Le 50 Tours at the 1.53-mile temporary course through the streets of Trois-Rivieres.

It was the second Canadian Tire Series victory of the season for Dumoulin, a native of Trois-Rivieres, and fourth of his career.

Dumoulin and Ranger were battling on the first attempt at a green-white-checkered finish when the caution flag was displayed after an accident between pole sitter Marc Antoine Camirand and Xavier Coupal on Lap 51.

The accident sent Coupal into a series of barrel rolls that forced NASCAR officials to display the red flag while safety personnel worked to get Coupal out of the car. Coupal was transported to a local hospital for further evaluation after the accident.

Due to time constraints and the amount of clean up needed, the race was called after the two-car accident on Lap 51.

Ranger finished second with Micks third. Dumoulin’s brother, J.F. Dumoulin, was fourth and J.R. Fitzpatrick completed the top five. Jeff Lapcevich, Alex Guenette, Jason Hathaway, Noel Dowler and Joey McColm brought home the top 10.

The Le 50 Tours was seen live Sunday on RDS2, and will debut on TSN in Canada on Aug. 16 at 1 p.m. ET.

L.P. Dumoulin holds on to his points lead over Fitzpatrick as the series returns to action on  Aug. 16 with the Wilson Equipment 300 at Riverside International Speedway in Antigonish, Nova Scotia. The Canadian Tire Series has visited the high-banked .333-mile oval each year since 2007. Jason Hathaway is the defending race winner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *