MOTOAMERICA: 2015 Daytona 200 Cancelled After Speedway, Sanction Unable to Reach Agreement

Jacob Seelman Featured, Motorcycle Racing, Southeast 0 Comments

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Report by Race Chaser Online Managing Editor Jacob Seelman — AMA Pro Racing photo — After 73 prior runnings and a history dating back to 1937, it appears the legendary Daytona 200 motorcycle race has reached the end of its road.

At the very least, it’s clear there will not be a 2015 edition of the event, after Daytona International Speedway president Joie Chitwood III released a statement confirming the decision on Friday morning.

“After having multiple discussions with Moto America/KRAVE regarding a sanction agreement for the 2015 Daytona 200, we were unable to find common ground on a business model that would be beneficial for both parties. We wish MotoAmerica/KRAVE the best as they begin their inaugural season in 2015,” Chitwood said.

“Daytona International Speedway will continue to be the driving force behind Bike Week, hosting a wide range of activities for all ages including the Daytona Supercross, the Ricky Carmichael Amateur Supercross and the AMA Pro Flat Track doubleheader, as well as demo rides, displays and vendors. We will continue to look for partners to assist in running the Daytona 200.”

The history of the Daytona 200 goes back to that inaugural running in 1937, a race won by Ed Kretz on an Indian model bike on the old Daytona Beach Road Course later used by the now-NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in the 40s and 50s. Prior winners include five-time event champions Scott Russell and Miguel Duhamel, Nicky Hayden, Giacomo Agostini, Chaz Davies and Josh Herrin.

Danny Eslick was the defending event winner on a Triumph for Riders Discount Racing, and little manufacturer support was found at the track this year, with no television coverage of the event.

The opening race for the MotoAmerica/KRAVE sanction, which took over the sanctioning of U.S. motorcycle road racing from AMA just over a month ago and counts past Daytona 200 winner Wayne Rainey among its chief leaders, has yet to be officially determined.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.