Millbridge Speedway Back In Action Tonight; Dylan Smith Among Last Saturday’s Winners

Tom Baker Carolinas Racing, Featured, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, US Legends/INEX 0 Comments

SALISBURY, N.C. – Story by RaceChaser Senior Editor Tom Baker – Photos By Kara C Photography –

For those looking to enjoy some family-friendly racing action on a beautiful Saturday evening in the Charlotte, N.C. area, here’s an idea.  Come on out to Millbridge Speedway in Salisbury and enjoy a full slate that includes Mini Outlaws, a $500 to-win show for Mini-Cups plus Legend Cars and Micro Sprints!

Last Saturday night at Millbridge, Dylan Smith was the winner in the Open Outlaw feature, defeating Chaz Woodward for his first-ever Open victory.  Smith is a 14-year-old who is among several racers making a transition from the Bandolero cars on pavement to the Mini Outlaws on dirt and having a blast doing it.

Smith has adapted very quickly to the 1/6-mile surface at Millbridge and the open-wheel racing style with his No. 03, and he prevailed over fellow 2014 winner Woodward in a race that saw each of them face adversity and recover.  Daniel Lambert, Curtis Swim and Jared Irvan (racing in his first ever Mini Outlaw race) rounded out the top five.

In the Beginner Box Stock division, Matthew Gould drove flawlessly all afternoon to win both his heat and the feature event, besting Hunter Kohn and Tyler Dolack in both races.  Gould ran as well as ever last week and will surely be looking to make it two in a row tonight.

Bake Cisneros, another of the drivers transitioning from Bandoleros to Mini Outlaws, also won both his heat and feature, racing in the Box Stock class.  Brook Benge in the No. 5 gave Blake a real run for his money in the feature event but settled for a highly impressive second place finish.

The Intermediate Division saw the No. 11 of Dawson “DC” Cram outracing Hunter Richards in both the heat and the feature, with Kyle Campbell winding up third.  Cram has had a challenging but successful season, moving from Bandoleros to Legend Cars on pavement and winning at Millbridge in both his Legend and now the Mini Outlaw.

Darby Deyarmon, Jr. had his Sportsman class Mini Outlaw on hand and got some laps in a class that the track is trying to build up for 2015.

Switching gears to the 270 Micro Sprints, Tim Williams won the heat race while Mike Conway put his No. 53 in victory lane in the feature, holding off both Williams and Fred Prosperi, Jr. to get the job done.

KC Traxler led every lap of the Legend Car heat and feature to win both races.  In the feature, Adam Welch brought his No. 81 home in second while Gene Traxler and Todd McCullem scored third and fourth, respectively.

The 600 Micro Sprint race was a hotly contested one as Dan Jones, Tim Nye and Ryan Gamble all led laps before Jones finally put his No. 8 out front for good and picked up the checkered flag.   Gamble crossed the line second ahead of Fred Prosperi III while Nye concluded his evening up in fourth place.

Millbridge Speedway is located on Route 150 between Mooresville and Salisbury, N.C.   Practice gets underway at 6:30pm with racing to follow.  For more information and full-season schedule (which also includes several Wednesday night events), check out Millbridge Speedway on Facebook or visit on the web!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *