LOLMDS: Jared Landers Secures COMP Cams Topless 100 Pole at Batesville

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, MidSouth, Other Dirt Late Models 0 Comments

LOCUST GROVE, Ark. – official series release — Michael Hamilton file photo —

A total of 57 cars entered the preliminary night for the 23rd annual COMP Cams Topless 100 pucasresented by Crop Production Services on Friday night at Batesville Motor Speedway.

Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series point leader Jonathan Davenport was the Miller Welders overall and Group A Fast Qualifier by one-thousandth of a second over Mike Marlar. Jimmy Owens was the Miller Welders Fast Qualifier in Group B.

In the first heat race, Earl Pearson Jr. jumped to the lead at the start and dominated all 15 laps. The Carlton and Kemp Lamm-owned Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Products Black Diamond Chassis led Davenport and Shannon Babb across the finish line.

Former COMP Cams Topless 100 (2004) winner Dale McDowell sprinted to the top spot on the opening lap and held off Marlar to score the win in heat number two. He drove the Team Dillon Racing, Bad Boy Buggies Warrior Race Cars entry to the victory over Marlar and 1998 Topless 100 winner Wendell Wallace to advance to the redraw.

Chris Brown powered to the lead at the start of heat race number three and never looked back as he took the win in the Mark Brown-owned, Lonestar Hydro and Maintenance Club 29 entry. Eddie Carrier Jr. started fifth and advanced to second, followed by Arkansas driver, Hunter Rasdon, who made his first-career Topless 100.

Two-time and defending Topless 100 winner Owens powered around 2013 event winner Terry Phillips with five laps-to-go to claim heat number four. He drove the Bryan Rowland-owned Widow Wax sponsored Club 29 No. 20. Phillips finished second, followed by leading LOLMDS Rookie of the Year candidate Brandon Sheppard.

Jared Landers, the 2010 COMP Cams Topless 100 victor, held off a furious last-lap challenge from Scott Bloomquist to win heat number five. Landers in the Lance Landers Motorsports, Crop Productions Services-sponsored 777 beat Bloomquist to the finish line by one-car length. Trailing Landers and Bloomquist to the finish line was Billy Moyer Jr., who earned the final transfer spot.

In the sixth heat race, Garrett Alberson raced his way into the $40,000 main event on Saturday as he drove the Raymond Childress-owned Childress Fishing and Rental Black Diamond to victory lane. Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion Don O’Neal finished third followed by Jesse Stovall.

The six heat race winners re-drew afterwards with Jared Landers drawing the pole. Chris Brown drew the number two spot. Jared Landers drew the third starting spot, Jimmy Owens drew the fourth starting spot, Dale McDowell will start fifth, and Garrett Alberson will start sixth.

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.