KNPSW: McReynolds Inching Closer to First Series Win

RaceChaser Staff Featured, NASCAR, West 0 Comments

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – By John Tejada, NASCAR — Getty Images for NASCAR photo — Brandon McReynolds is getting tired of runner-up and third-place finishes.

McReynolds, from Mooresville, North Carolina, has come very close to his first career NASCAR K&N Pro Series West victory over the course of the season driving for Bill McAnally Racing. He is tied for the lead in top-five finishes and has two runner-up finishes in his last three series’ starts. He has four podium finishes in his last six starts dating back to the event at State Line Speedway in Post Falls, Idaho.

He’s hoping Saturday’s K&N Pro West event at All American Speedway in Roseville, California, will change that. After all, BMR has won six of the 10 events since the series returned to the fairgrounds in 2008.

Perhaps his closest race came at Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, Washington, on Aug. 16. McReynolds began the day by winning his second Coors Light Pole Award. He would eventually cede the lead to Greg Pursley and Dylan Lupton, but stayed up-front with the leaders throughout the entire event. Third to take the white flag, McReynolds and David Mayhew raced around the race leader Dylan Lupton, going three-wide coming out of Turn 4. McReynolds was able to get by Lupton but fell .196 seconds short of Mayhew for the victory.

The 23-year-old NASCAR Next driver is currently third in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West championship standings heading in to the Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150, the 13th of 14 events on the 2014 calendar. He began the season with two races in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East, finishing third behind race-winner Daniel Suárez and runner-up finisher Austin Hill.

Saturday will mark McReynolds’ first trip to All American. His father, NASCAR on FOX announcer Larry McReynolds will serve as the Grand Marshal for the event.


The Race: This event is the 13th of 14 events on the 2014 schedule for the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.

The Procedure: The starting field is 24 cars, including provisionals. The first 20 cars will qualify through two-lap time trials. The remaining four spots will be awarded through the provisional process. The race will be 150 laps (50 miles).

The Track: All American Speedway is a .333-mile paved oval with eight degrees banking in Turns 1 and 2. Turns 3 and 4 have progressive banking, beginning at 10 degrees and graduating to 14 degrees. The track hosted five NASCAR K&N Pro Series West events between 1977 and 1982, when it was a quarter-mile oval and 10 races since it was renovated prior to the 2008 season.

Records: Qualifying: Jason Bowles, April 4, 2009, 88.218 mph, 13.589 sec.; Race: Eric Holmes, April 4, 2009, 67.576 mph, 44 minutes 21 seconds.


Waltrip Returns: Michael Waltrip is set to make his NASCAR K&N Pro Series West season debut at All American Speedway for Bill McAnally Racing – which is based nearby. It will mark the ninth career series start for Waltrip, a two-time winner of the Daytona 500. He finished 20th last year in this event after completing only 78 of 150 laps due to transmission problems. His only series win came at Pikes Peak International Raceway in Fountain, Colo., in 1997.

Behar Is Back: Nicole Behar, who tied the record for highest finish by a female in the series in her K&N Pro Series West debut at State Line Speedway in Post Falls, Idaho, will make her third career start in Saturday’s Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150. Behar will also participate in the NASCAR Drive for Diversity Combine at Langley Speedway on Oct. 13-15.

Series Debut For PaHud: Christian PaHud, winner of the 2014 PEAK Stock Car Dream Challenge, will make his NASCAR K&N Pro Series West debut in the Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150. After submitting a video entry, PaHud was selected to compete as one of 18 finalists under the guidance of Michael Waltrip, Clint Bowyer, Brian Vickers, Danica Patrick and Jeff Burton, for a chance to win a PEAK racing sponsorship. The three-day competition tested the finalists through short-track, road course, speedway, car control, dirt track, and endurance racing, along with marketing and communication elements. Pahud will be driving a Bill McAnally Racing entry.

One For The Record Books: With no former event winners currently entered in the Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150, fans are guaranteed to see a new race winner on Saturday. In addition, Greg Pursley is the only driver on the entry list that has ever won a pole at the .333-mile oval.

Big Day Of Competition: Race promoter, Bill McAnally Racing Promotions, has put together another great lineup of competition for the Roseville event. In addition to the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West, the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series late models will be in competing and the Pacific Challenge Late Model Series will also be in action.

HOMETRACKS UPDATE: Linstroth Defends Modified Crown

Jay Linstroth, 46, of Citrus Heights, Calif., won his second straight Modified championship at All American Speedway. Linstroth had three wins in the track’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division I. Richard Lavallee won the title in Street Stock (Div. II) and Matt Manolis took home the crown in the Bombers (Div. III).


Mayhew Scores Fourth Win Of 2014: On Sept. 13, David Mayhew raced around Pursley and rookie James Bickford for the lead in a Lap 44 melee, and held on for his eighth career series victory. The Atascadero, California, native was able to hold a late charging Dylan Lupton, who was looking for his second consecutive victory. It was Mayhew’s first win at a road course. Pursley turned the fastest lap during qualifying at Miller Motorsports Park to garner the Coors Light Pole Award. It marked his third pole of the year and 20th career pole.


The NASCAR K&N Pro Series West will complete its 14-race schedule when it makes its return visit to Phoenix International Raceway on Thursday, Nov. 6. NASCAR Next driver and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series event winner Cole Custer won the season-opening event at PIR while fellow NASCAR Next driver and NASCAR K&N Pro Series East regular Gray Gaulding is the defending race winner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.