Garbo Wins Zloop Challenge Round Four on WrenchRags Night at Hickory

Tom Baker Featured, Southeast 0 Comments

(Newton, NC — May 5, 2013) David Garbo, Jr. found his way to Victory Lane Saturday night at Hickory Motor Speedway in the 100-lap Zloop Challenge for the Bojangles’ Late Models during WrenchRages Night at the Races. Other winners of the evening included Casey Pierce in the Paramount KIA Limited Late Models, Ben Ebeling in the Strett Stocks, Jeremy Birch in the Gold King Super Trucks, Charlie Neill in the WrenchRags Renegades and Donn Fenn in the Classic Sportsmen Racing division.

Matt Piercy driver of the No. 25 started the 100-lap Zloop Challenge from the pole position, but was over taken by Austin McDaniel in the No. 12 on the first lap until the No. 95 of Michael Leavine and Jack Madrid in the No. 4 collided heading out of turn one on lap one. Piercy regained the lead on the restart and remained out front until lap 72 when the No. 8 driven by David Garbo Jr. took over the top spot.  McDaniel moved into second on lap 97, leaving Piercy to ride around third during the final laps.  Garbo was the first to come to the finish line winning the fourth round of the Zloop Challenge and was followed by McDaniel, Piercy, the No. 43 of Jesse LeFevers and the No. 00 of Shane Lee.

The Paramount KIA Limited Late Models saw a new winner this season when the No. 18 of Casey Pierce drove to Victory Lane after starting from the second position.  The No. 25 of Brayton Haws led the field to the green flag, but resigned the top spot to Pierce on the first lap. Following a caution involving the No. 18 of Nicole Lyons and No. 09 of Kyle Mansch, Haws was able to move back out front when green-flag racing resumed.  Following a lap 21 restart, Pierce moved back to the front of the pack and grabbed his first divisional win. Haws finished second, the No. 00 of Shane Lee third, the No. 15 of Sheflon Clay and No. 51 of Jeremy Pelfrey rounded out the top five.

The No. 22 of Ben Ebeling brought the Street Stock field to the green flag from the pole position.  Kevin Townsend in the No. 10 grabbed the lead on the first lap, but Ebeling regained the top spot on lap eight.  A caution was brought on lap 11 after the No. 16 of Carroll McKinney and the No. 64 of Marshall Sutton connected on the track. Ebeling grabbed the checkered flag and was followed to the finish line by Sutton, Eby, the No. 17 of Baron Kuritzky and the No. 10 of Kevin Townsend.

The No. 33 of Jeremy Birch started the 35-lap Gold King Super Truck event from the pole position and led all laps on his way to Victory Lane. The No. 29 of Jason Smith, No. 09 of Trevor Hignutt, No. 9 of Lee Queen and the No. 88 of Doug Barnes crossed the finish line second through fifth, respectively.

The No. 14 of Eddie Russ captured the pole for the 20-lap WrenchRags Renegades event, but lost the top spot on the second lap when the No. 2 of Charlie Neill drove to the front of the field. The first caution of the night was displayed on lap 14 when Greg Austin in the No. 4 backed in to the fourth turn wall.  Neill regained the lead at the restart and remained out front until taking the checkered flag. Austin finished second, the No. 16 of Carroll McKinney was third, the No. 68 of Steve Griffith fourth and the No. 77 of Shawn Hayes rounded out the top five.

The No. 2 of Don Fenn brought the field to green during the Classics Sportsmen Racing event Saturday night. Fenn held onto the lead throughout the 25-lap event and was followed to the finish line by the No. 8 of James Tuz, the No. 48 of Charles Thorne, the No. 71 of Steve Davis and the No. 11 of Todd McDaniel.

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing continues next Saturday, May 11 for the fifth round of the Zloop Challenge presented by Paramount Auto Group. The night will include appearances by the Bojganles’ Late Models for a 100-lap Zloop Challenge, the Paramount KIA Limited Late Models, Street Stocks, the WrenchRags Renegades and the K and P Construction 4-Cylinders. Grandstands open at 5 p.m. with feature racing beginning at 7.

PHOTO CREDIT: Sherry Stearns

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *