CUP: Penske Power; Logano Paces Phoenix Happy Hour

Ryan O'Hara Cup, Featured, NASCAR, Southwest 0 Comments

Joey Logano sits in his car during practice (Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images North America).

AVONDALE, Ariz. —  Phoenix pole-sitter Joey Logano was quickest during final practice for Sunday’s Camping World 500.

The Team Penske driver posted the fast lap of 26.719 seconds (134.736 mph) in his No. 22 Shell/Pennzoil Ford. Logano is also the most recent winner at Phoenix and got one step closer to making it two-in-a-row Friday by scoring the pole for Sunday’s race.

2002 Phoenix winner Matt Kenseth was second (134.519 mph) followed by Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch (134.399 mph). Atlanta winner Brad Keselowski (134.384 mph) was fourth and four-time Phoenix winner Jimmie Johnson (134.368 mph) slotted in the fifth spot.

Erik Jones, Clint Bowyer, Kyle Larson, Martin Truex Jr., and Jamie McMurray rounded out the top-10.

Chase Elliott was quickest in two of the three practice sessions this weekend at Phoenix this weekend but was 13th in Happy Hour while eight-time Phoenix winner Kevin Harvick was 16th.

Daniel Suarez ran into some tough luck when the right-front tire went down on his No. 19 ARRIS Toyota which was the only stoppage of the session.

The cars and stars of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series will be back on track  for  Sunday’s Camping World 500 which begins shortly after 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT) with live TV coverage on FOX.


RESULTS: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series; Final Practice; Phoenix Raceway; March 18, 2017

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Matt Kenseth
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Erik Jones
  7. Clint Bowyer
  8. Kyle Larson
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Jamie McMurray
  11. Kasey Kahne
  12. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  13. Chase Elliott
  14. Ryan Blaney
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Kevin Harvick
  17. Denny Hamlin
  18. Trevor Bayne
  19. Daniel Suarez
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  21. Aric Almirola
  22. Austin Dillon
  23. Kurt Busch
  24. Landon Cassill
  25. Danica Patrick
  26. Ty Dillon
  27. Paul Menard
  28. A.J. Allmendinger
  29. David Ragan
  30. Chris Buescher
  31. Michael McDowell
  32. Matt DiBenedetto
  33. Reed Sorenson
  34. Cole Whitt
  35. Corey LaJoie
  36. Gray Gaulding
  37. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  38. Timmy Hill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.