Bojangles Summer Shootout Round 4 Recap: Hurricane Al, Ruff, Mayer, Canipe Win

Tom Baker Featured, Southeast, US Legends/INEX 0 Comments

CONCORD, N.C. – “Hurricane Al” swept through Charlotte Motor Speedway during Tuesday’s round four of the ten-race Bojangles’ Summer ShootoutWBTV meteorologist Al Conklin reigned supreme in the Media Mayhem school bus slobberknocker among area media personalities, which kicked off the night’s action on a damp, difficult track to navigate.

Conklin’s second Media Mayhem victory in a row was the fourth of his career, but the veteran bus racer had to contend with J.D. “Stoneman” Stone of WROQ Classic Rock 101.1 – not to mention the wet race track that saw WCCB sports reporter Zach Aldridge go for a spin in Turn 3. Conklin avoided any carnage, his black No. 3 bus held up and he sped to a convincing triumph.

“That was really fun. There was a new element this year, since we threw rain into the mix,” Conklin said. “There was a sharp learning curve on that. I was sliding pretty good in Turn 1 on the first lap. J.D. bumped me pretty good and I thought, ‘This is it,’ but I gathered it back up. The trick was not to hit the brake. Just hit the gas and let off when it started to slide sideways.”

Stone finished second in his school bus racing debut.

“I’m the first loser, so I’m frustrated about that, but I’ll say that coming second to Al was, for me, pretty cool,” Stone said. “He’s a legend here. And, besides, I learned a lot out there. I never knew that I could drift a school bus. That was fun. Next year, I’m just gonna wreck him.”

WCNC’s Nick Carboni – one of the pre-race favorites – made a daring move to the inside entering Turn 3 on the first lap. In his bid to move from fifth to third, however, Carboni’s engine sputtered and died, leaving the second-year bus racer wondering what could have been as the field passed him.

“I’m going to sign an extension with WCNC and I’m going to win one of these damn things,” a determined Carboni said after the race.

The speedway’s frontstretch quarter-mile played host to a hotly contested Cabarrus Brewing Company Masters division feature on Tuesday night, as former NASCAR drivers Mark Green and Robby Faggart battled nose-to-tail for the final 18 laps.

Green worked the top groove and kept Faggart at bay, but smoke began to follow Green’s white No. 20 Legend Car with six laps to go. The driver kept the car intact just long enough to take the checkered flag first, but Green was disqualified and moved to last after his car failed post-race inspection.

Faggart inherited his second win in four races with Rodney Tharp, John Craig, Todd Midas and Carl Cormier rounding out the top five.

“I really want that 25th anniversary championship belt,” Faggart said. “We padded our points lead. There was only one groove out there and if you got out of that groove, it would end your night. I think the fans probably enjoyed that race, because we were really all over each other. At the end, I gave him a shot there but it wasn’t enough. It was a good night, though. Being nice paid off for me. (Green) has a lot of experience and so do I. When you have two drivers with that kind of experience, you can really put on a good show for the fans.”

While a wet race track forced Bandolero features to be pushed to July 3, there was plenty of excitement in the remaining Legend Car features.

Sam Mayer continued his impressive start to the Legend Car Pro season on Tuesday night. The JR Motorsports development driver took the lead away from Dawson Cram on Lap 16 and pulled away to register his second Pro victory in four races.

Mayer, the son of former Indy car driver Scott Mayer, further legitimized his championship aspirations after a well-earned win on a challenging surface.

“There was a lot more grip up top,” Mayer said of his winning strategy. “I just had to ride the cushion.”

Derek Lemke, last week’s winner, finished second with Dillon Spain third and Gus Dean – an ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards driver – fourth. Nick Sanchez completed the top five

“Cheeseburger” was in paradise after the VP Racing Fuels Semi-Pro feature, as D.J. “Cheeseburger” Canipe outlasted the field in a 59-minute, 20-lap feature slowed by red flags and a slew of yellow flags.

“I just got up front and kept it in the groove,” Canipe said.

The groove worked perfectly, as Canipe led Harrison Halder, Garrett Lowe, Drew Dollar and Dustin Rumley across the line.

No one was tougher than Bryson Ruff in Tuesday’s K1 Speed Young Lions feature. The Bojangles’-sponsored driver registered a dominating victory, posting the fastest lap of the race – a blistering 19.603-second lap – en route to beating Ryan Rackley, Isaak Love, Will Robusto and Tyler Chapman to the flag.

The Bojangles’ Summer Shootout continues next Tuesday, July 3, with a spectacular, patriotic fireworks show and a driver autograph session. Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.

Tuesday’s Results:

Cabarrus Brewing Company Masters (25 laps): 1. Robby Faggart; 2. Rodney Tharp; 3. Jon Craig; 4. Todd Midas; 5. Carl Cormier; 6. Bruce Silver; 7. Scott Wessel; 8. Chip Ferguson; 9. Charles Parker; 10. Dwayne Holder; 11. Jan Ingram; 12. Mark Green.

K1 Speed Young Lions (25 laps): 1. Bryson Ruff; 2. Isaak Love; 3.Will Robusto; 4. Tyler Chapman; 5. Holt Halder; 6. Austin MacDonald; 7. J.R. Weidman; 8. Justice Calabro; 9. Conner Jones; 10. Tommy Good; 11. Isabella Robusto; 12. Trent Dockery; 13. Steven Chapman; 14. Molly Linder; 15. George Hayes; 16. Tristian Borkowski; 17.Jason Alder; 18. Ryan Rackley.

VP Racing Fuel Semi Pro (20 laps): 1. D.J. Canipe; 2. Harrison Halder; 3. Garrett Lowe; 4. Drew Dollar; 5. Dustin Rumley; 6. Sammy Smith; 7. Tristen Love; 8. Brandon McKenzie; 9. Ryo Ogata; 10. Vince Midas; 11. Craig Biryla; 12. Joshua Plummer; 13. Carson Poindexter; 14. Connor Mosack; 15. Adam Berberich; 16. Hayden Swank; 19. Cole Brown; 20. Daniel Knight; 21. Seth Henry; 22. Kaylee Bryson; 23. Faron Laney; 24. Cole Dockery; 25. Gracie Trotter; 26. Dacin Roberson.

Legend Car Pro (25 laps): 1. Sam Mayer; 2. Derek Lemke; 3. Dillon Spain; 4. Gus Dean; 5. Nick Sanchez; 6. Daniel Wilk; 7. Tyler Lester; 8. Dawson Cram; 9. Garrett Manes; 10. Hudson Halder.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.