AUDIO/RECAP: Matt McCullough Claims Second USCS Micro Sprint Victory of 2014 at Harris

Jacob Seelman Audio, Carolinas Racing, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Micro Sprints, Southeast, Sprints & Midgets 1 Comment

RUTHERFORDTON, N.C. – Story and audio by Managing Editor Jacob Seelman for Speed77 Radio, Race Chaser Online and USCS Racing – Chris Seelman photo – Before Saturday night, Matt McCullough had only won in the USCS 600 Sprint Series at one race track. Now, he can say he’s crossed another track off the checklist.

McCullough, from Atlanta, Georgia, blasted away from the K&N Filters Pole Position and dominated Saturday’s 15-lap A-main as part of the inaugural Harris Speedway “Sprint Car Wars”, running away from Kyle Amerson in a caution-free feature to grab his third career USCS micro sprint victory.

McCullough’s prior two USCS feature wins came at the East Alabama Motor Speedway in Phenix City, Alabama.

“This is really a surprise; I feel like we should have won last week because we had the fastest car, but just had circumstances work against us,” McCullough said in Victory Lane. “Tonight I don’t think we necessarily had the fastest car, we just got lucky. That’s part of it sometimes though, it’s cool to finally win one (outside of Phenix City) and I’ll certainly take it.”

Amerson, from Montgomery, Alabama, could never mount a charge against McCullough and had to settle for second, with Sanford, Florida driver Dirk Miller completing the podium in third. Miller’s Casselberry, Florida teammate David Hall finished in fourth and Cumming, Georgia pilot Brandon Taylor rounded out the top five.

Home state driver Rick Goss, out of Charlotte, finished in the sixth position and Winder, Georgia veteran Mike Magic ran seventh at the checkered flag. Defending series champion Sean Hosey, from Clarksville, Tennessee came home eighth and Belmont, North Carolina young gun Jackson Wellman finished ninth. Marco Island, Florida’s Nick Snyder capped off the top ten.

David Hall kicked off the night by grabbing the win in the Hoosier Tire Speed Dash, and Dirk Miller took the win in the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Hall notched the win in the Second Heat.

Hall was the provisional polesitter after scoring the most passing points in heat race action, but when a four came up in the K&N Inversion Draw, McCullough grabbed the K&N Filters Pole Position. Sean Hosey passed the most cars in the main event (two) to garner the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award.

The USCS 600 Sprint Car Series season continues Sunday night, August 31st, with an event at Toccoa Speedway in Toccoa, Georgia as part of the 3rd annual “Sunday of Speed”.

For rules and updated schedule information about the USCS 600 Sprint Car series please visit or call the series office at 770-460-7223.


RESULTS: USCS 600 Sprint Car Series @ Harris Speedway; August 30, 2014 

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash: David Hall, Brandon Taylor, Matt McCullough, Sean Hosey, Dirk Miller, Mike Magic.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Dirk Miller, Kyle Amerson, Matt McCullough, Nick Snyder, Bo Barber, Tim Nye (DNS). Second Heat: David Hall, Brandon Taylor, Mike Magic, Rick Goss, Sean Hosey, Jackson Wellman. USCS 600 Sprint A-Main 15 laps:

  1. #14M – Matt McCullough, Atlanta, GA
  2. #29 – Kyle Amerson, Montgomery, AL
  3. #68 – Dirk Miller, Sanford, FL
  4. #67 – David Hall, Casselberry, FL
  5. #07 – Brandon Taylor, Cumming, GA
  6. #9R – Rick Goss, Charlotte, NC
  7. #5M – Mike Magic, Winder, GA
  8. #6 – Sean Hosey, Clarksville, TN
  9. #12 – Jackson Wellman, Belmont, NC
  10. #3D – Nick Snyder, Marco Island, FL
  11. #14 – Bo Barber, Clarksville, TN
  12. #42 – Tim Nye, Mooresville, NC (DNS)


Audio with race winner Matt McCullough:


USCS 600 Sprint Race Awards:

Hoosier Tire Speed Dash:  #67 – David Hall
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat:  #68 – Dirk Miller Second Heat:  #67 – David Hall
K&N Filters Pole Award:  #14M – Matt McCullough
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award:  #68 – Dirk Miller
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award:  #6 – Sean Hosey
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award:  #07 – Brandon Taylor
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award:  #9R – Rick Goss
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award: #3D – Nick Snyder

Comments 1

Leave a Reply to sam mccullough Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.