AUDIO/RECAP; Finally; John Hunter Nemechek Captures First Career ARCA/CRA Super Series Win at Lucas Oil Raceway

Kyle Magda ARCA, Audio, Featured, Midwest, Other Late Models 0 Comments

CLERMONT, Ind. — Audio, photo and recap by Race Chaser Online Associate Editor Kyle Magda —

John Hunter Nemechek came within inches of winning the 2014 ARCA/CRA Super Series race at Lucas Oil Raceway.

Sprint Cup Series driver Kyle Busch nipped Nemechek at the start-finish line, denying the 17-year-old his first career series win. A year later, the younger Nemechek put on a driving clinic to go from 10th to first to take the victory in the Circle City 100.

“It was pretty much good whenever I would needed it to be,” Nemechek said of the car. “I learned a little bit from Kyle with just what to do, kind of what lines he was running and how he saved his stuff for the end to where he was just a little bit better, so can’t thank him enough for racing me hard, but you learn a lot from those guys when they come out here.”

The now 18-year-old driver set the fastest time in qualifying, but re-drew 10th for the ARCA/CRA Super Series race. Once the green flag dropped, Nemechek wasted no time in going to the front and was already starting to sniff the lead at the half-way break. Pole-sitter Grant Quinlan drove away early and led his first-career laps in the series. When caution after caution flew, Nemechek slowly crept up the leaderboard and grabbed the lead from Quinlan on lap 55 and never looked back.

“We knew coming back this year we had to be on it and were,” Nemechek said “I can’t thank my guys enough. We put this car together literally in a week to come up here and this thing rolled for us.”

The battle was on for second for Quinlan who just made his NASCAR K&N Pro Series East debut on July 4 at Columbus Motor Speedway. The leading ARCA/CRA Rookie of the Year and points leader started to fall into the clutches of Jake Crum in the late stages before the two made contact and Quinlan started to backslide even more when the laps began to click off.

Nevertheless, Crum got around the No. 28 and came home in the runner-up spot behind Nemechek.

“We didn’t tear the car up, came home with a solid two-top finish,” Crum said. “Just happy to be back in position to be able to win again.”

Crum competed in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series some in his racing career and raced on a night when the series ran in companion with the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards.

Cody Coughlin rebounded from a flat tire early on to finish third in his No.1 JEGS machine. Coughlin made a mad dash to the front before bringing his car home in one piece.

“I didn’t think we’d get this far, so thank God we had the drive that we had and this Toyota was really fast,” Coughlin said. “It’s just bittersweet because we’ve been close to a lot of wins and we’ve had our share of wins, but you always want more. We’ll try and get it the next time.”

Next on-track activity Friday night at Lucas Oil Raceway is the Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200 for the ARCA Racing Series presented at Menards at 9 p.m. ET and that race will be shown live on FOX Sports.

The ARCA/CRA Super Series travels next to Kalmazoo Speedway in Michigan on August 12.


Audio with winner John Hunter Nemechek:

Audio with second-place finisher Jake Crum:

Audio with third-place finisher Cody Coughlin:


RESULTS: ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by Jegs; Circle City 100 presented by Greg Hubler Chevrolet; Lucas Oil Raceway; July 24, 2015

  1. John Hunter Nemechek
  2. Jake Crum
  3. Cody Coughlin
  4. Jeff Cannon
  5. Dominique Van Wieringen
  6. Quin Houff
  7. Eddie Van Meter
  8. Brett Robinson
  9. Quinnton Bear
  10. D.J. Weltmeyer
  11. Steve Wallace
  12. Matt Hall
  13. Jeep Plfum
  14. Paul Shafer Jr.
  15. Erik Darnell
  16. Jack Dossey III
  17. Grant Quinlan
  18. Jared Thomas
  19. Wes Griffith Jr.
  20. Willie Allen
  21. Hunter Baize
  22. Mark Lambert
  23. Travis Sauter
  24. Jason Atkinson
  25. Cole Rouse
  26. Brian Campbell
  27. Nick Gullatta
  28. Jordan Pruitt
  29. Jeff Lane

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.